CHONC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHONC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis

TL;DR
  • No verified 2026 salary premium exists for the Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder credential, so treat any specific premium figure with suspicion.
  • The exam costs USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two, and an active AAPC membership is required.
  • Value comes from provable skills: oncology E/M, drug wastage, clinical trial billing, modifiers, and HCPCS Level II drug coding.
  • Maintaining the credential takes 36 CEUs per two-year cycle, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs.

What We Can and Cannot Say About CHONC Pay

Every salary guide faces the same temptation: to publish a confident-looking number. For the Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder credential, offered through AAPC, that would be dishonest. As of our 2026 review, no verified CHONC-specific salary premium has been published, and AAPC does not disclose a CHONC-specific pass rate or earnings data tied to this credential. Anything claiming "CHONC holders earn exactly X percent more" is invented.

What we can do is explain the mechanics that determine pay for specialty coders, show where the credential plausibly strengthens your position, and give you the cost side of the ledger so you can run your own return-on-investment math. If you want the full framing of that calculation, our companion piece Is the CHONC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 walks through it, and the CHONC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown covers every fee line.

Why we refuse to quote a premium: Coding pay varies by employer type, geography, remote versus on-site work, volume expectations, and whether the role includes auditing or denial management. A single "CHONC bump" number would hide all of that variation. When you evaluate an offer, compare it against comparable specialty-coding roles in your own market rather than against a headline figure.

What Employers Are Actually Buying With This Credential

A credential is a signal. The CHONC signal says you have been tested on a very particular slice of coding and compliance knowledge: oncology and hematology practice settings, where claims are expensive, documentation is dense, and payer scrutiny is high. The exam content is built around a set of published competencies, and those competencies map closely to the problems oncology practices lose money on.

Consider what a hematology/oncology practice bills in a typical week: office and infusion-center visits, chemotherapy and other drug administration, high-cost injectable drugs with single-dose-vial waste, labs and pathology, imaging, and patients enrolled in clinical trials. Errors in any of these areas produce denials, underpayment, or compliance exposure. A coder who has demonstrated command of the topics in the CHONC blueprint reduces that risk.

That is the honest argument for the credential's earning power: not a guaranteed premium, but a stronger case when you apply for specialty roles, ask for a scope expansion, or negotiate during a review. The strength of that case depends on how well your résumé backs up the credential with actual oncology experience, which AAPC itself stresses; the study guide sample states that the guide is not comprehensive and that hands-on specialty coding experience matters.

Credential plus experience beats either alone

There is no mandatory degree, reference requirement, or verified training-hour total for the exam, and CPC or COC is not a prerequisite. That lowers the barrier to entry, which also means the credential alone will not differentiate you the way a combination of the credential and demonstrable chart-level oncology experience will. Hiring managers reading a résumé tend to look for both signals together.

To understand how entry works, see CHONC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Where Hematology and Oncology Coders Work

The credential is most relevant in environments where oncology claims are a core revenue stream. Pay structures differ across these settings, and so do the skills emphasized. You can browse role types and listing patterns in CHONC Jobs; the table below summarizes the setting-by-setting logic without attaching invented dollar figures.

Employer TypeTypical Coding FocusCredential Relevance
Independent oncology practiceOffice E/M, infusion and drug administration, drug wastage, ABN useHigh: nearly every domain applies daily
Hospital-based cancer centerTeaching physician rules, split/shared services, facility versus professional billingHigh: teaching physician and split/shared knowledge stand out
Billing company or revenue cycle vendorMulti-client oncology claims, denial follow-up, modifier accuracyStrong: breadth across practices is valued
Research-oriented or academic programClinical trial services, routine versus investigational cost separationStrong: clinical trial billing is a distinct differentiator
Auditing or compliance rolesDocumentation review, incident-to and HIPAA compliance, ABN reviewModerate to strong, especially paired with experience

Notice that this table says nothing about salary ranges, because we have no verified CHONC-specific ones. What it shows is where the exam's content overlaps with real job demands, which is the leverage point in any pay conversation.

The Skills Behind the Earning Power

The CHONC preparation material organizes content into 14 competency categories, listed as top-level bullets in the 2026 AAPC study guide sample. These are published exam-related competencies, not official weighted domains, so no one can honestly tell you which area carries the most exam weight. But they are a reliable map of what the credential covers, and several of them correspond directly to revenue-protecting skills. For a full walkthrough, read CHONC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 14 Content Areas.

Compliance Rules That Protect Revenue

Four of the competencies are about billing the right way, not just coding the right way.

  • Teaching physician guidelines: knowing when a service is billable when residents are involved.
  • Incident-to guidelines: understanding the conditions under which services by non-physician staff can bill under a physician.
  • Split/shared services: determining how physician and advanced-practice work is attributed.
  • HIPAA regulations: handling protected health information correctly in coding and billing workflows.

Drug and Patient-Financial Policy

Oncology practices live and die on drug reimbursement.

  • CMS drug wastage policy: how discarded drug from single-dose containers is reported and when it is payable.
  • Proper use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN): when an ABN is appropriate and what it does and does not protect.
  • HCPCS Level II coding: selecting accurate drug and supply codes, which sits right alongside modifier usage.

Core Code-Set Fluency

The classic coding skills remain the backbone of the exam.

  • ICD-10-CM coding: assigning diagnoses that support medical necessity in oncology and hematology encounters.
  • E/M code selection using the AMA CPT E/M guidelines: leveling visits by medical decision making or time. An online E/M calculator is provided in the exam environment, which differs from a prohibited personal calculator.
  • CPT coding for common procedures: the published subtopics are the 30000 Series, Laboratory and Pathology, Radiology, Medicine, and Category III codes.
  • CPT and HCPCS Level II modifier usage: applying modifiers correctly so claims pay as intended.

Foundational and Specialized Knowledge

  • Medical terminology and anatomy and medical physiology: the clinical vocabulary needed to read operative and physician notes. The sample describes assessment as based on operative and physician notes.
  • Clinical trial services: distinguishing what is billable to insurance from what belongs to the study.

A coder who can speak fluently to wastage, ABNs, and trial billing in an interview is demonstrating skills that directly protect a practice's revenue, and that is a far more persuasive salary argument than any credential acronym on its own.

The Cost Side of the Equation

An earnings analysis is incomplete without the investment. Here is what the credential costs based on the verified fee structure.

Cost ItemAmountNotes
Exam, one attemptUSD 325Specialty exam fee
Exam, two attemptsUSD 399Bundled retake option
AAPC membershipUSD 229 (observed add-on)Active membership is required; there is no non-member exam-only tier
Study materialsVariesThe official study guide sample is free; the full guide is a paid product

Because membership is mandatory, the realistic entry cost is the exam fee plus the membership add-on, before study materials. That puts the minimum outlay on the order of a few hundred dollars. Whether that pays back depends on whether the credential helps you land a role, earn a promotion, or justify a raise. Since there is no verified premium to count on, a conservative approach is to treat the credential as an investment in eligibility and credibility rather than a guaranteed pay bump.

Key Takeaway

Ask your current employer whether they reimburse exam fees or membership dues. If they do, the break-even calculation changes dramatically, and the credential becomes close to a risk-free addition to your profile.

Negotiating With a Specialty Credential

Since you cannot cite a published premium, build your case on evidence you control:

  1. Quantify your own results. Denial reductions, clean-claim improvements, and recovered revenue on oncology accounts are more compelling than a credential alone, if you can document them.
  2. Name the specific competencies. Saying "I am credentialed in CMS drug wastage policy, ABN use, and clinical trial billing" lands better than "I'm certified in oncology coding."
  3. Offer scope. Propose taking on audits, education sessions for providers, or trial billing reviews, areas where the credential gives you standing.
  4. Use market comparables. Compare against specialty-coding roles in your region and employer type rather than against a nationwide figure for the credential.
  5. Time it well. Raise the conversation right after you pass or right after you deliver a measurable win.

Keeping the Credential Active

Earning power persists only if the credential stays in good standing. Maintenance means holding annual AAPC membership and completing 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for a single credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. Totals differ if you hold multiple AAPC credentials. Budget annual membership dues as a recurring cost in your earnings analysis, and plan CEUs around topics that also sharpen your day-to-day oncology work, such as drug billing updates and trial billing rules. No retirement notice for the CHONC credential was found in the reviewed current issuer sources, so there is no basis to assume a near-term phase-out.

A Domain-Ordered Plan to Get Credentialed

Because the exam is 100 multiple-choice questions over four hours, with 70 correct needed to pass, and no weighted blueprint is published, the sensible approach is even coverage with extra time on your weakest areas. Here is one way to sequence the 14 competencies over six weeks. For the broader strategy, see CHONC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Weeks 1-2

Foundations and Compliance

  • Medical terminology, anatomy, and physiology, which underpin every note you will read.
  • Teaching physician, incident-to, and split/shared rules; these are rule-based and easy to confuse, so start early.
  • HIPAA and ABN usage.
Weeks 3-4

Drug, Trial, and Code-Set Work

  • CMS drug wastage policy and HCPCS Level II drug coding together, since they interact.
  • Clinical trial services and the separation of routine versus study costs.
  • ICD-10-CM guidelines and oncology-specific diagnosis scenarios.
Weeks 5-6

E/M, Procedures, Modifiers, and Practice

  • E/M leveling under AMA CPT guidelines, including use of the provided online calculator.
  • CPT procedures: 30000 Series, Laboratory and Pathology, Radiology, Medicine, and Category III.
  • Modifier usage across CPT and HCPCS, then timed mixed-practice sets in the CHONC practice test environment.

Remember what the exam allows: approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, and HCPCS Level II references are permitted under current print and electronic rules, but a study guide is not. Train with the same references you will bring, and confirm live-proctoring and equipment requirements before test day. Scheduling details are covered in CHONC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Don't confuse practice formats with the real exam: The 35-question exercise in the study guide and the 50-question practice products are study tools, not the live exam's format. The live exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in a single four-hour sitting. Our practice questions are designed to build the case-reading and code-lookup habits you will need under that time frame.

For a sense of difficulty before you invest, read How Hard Is the CHONC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026, and note that the CHONC-specific pass rate is not publicly disclosed, as explained in CHONC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a CHONC-credentialed coder earn?

There is no verified 2026 salary premium or CHONC-specific earnings figure. Pay depends on employer type, location, remote versus on-site work, and your experience. Compare offers against comparable specialty-coding roles in your market.

What does it cost to get the credential?

The exam is USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two attempts, and an active AAPC membership is required, observed at an additional USD 229. Study materials are extra. See the full breakdown in our certification cost guide.

Do I need CPC or COC before sitting for the exam?

No. CPC and COC are not prerequisites, and no mandatory degree, references, or training-hour total was verified. Specialty experience is recommended, and AAPC emphasizes hands-on oncology coding experience.

How do I keep the credential after passing?

Maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for one credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. Totals vary if you hold more than one credential.

What is the passing standard?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions over four hours, and you pass with 70 correct, or 70 percent. More detail is in CHONC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Ready to pass your CHONC exam?

Put this into practice with free CHONC questions across every exam domain.