- What "Pass Rate" Means for the CHONC
- What AAPC Publishes and What It Doesn't
- The Hard Numbers You Can Rely On
- Why a Specialty Exam Often Has No Public Pass Rate
- What Actually Drives Pass and Fail on This Exam
- Domain Pressure Points: Where Points Are Won and Lost
- Open-Book Conditions and Their Limits
- Fee Mechanics and the Retake Decision
- A Readiness Plan Built Around the 14 Competency Areas
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No CHONC-specific pass rate is publicly disclosed, so any precise percentage you see online is unverified.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, four hours, and a passing threshold of 70 correct, or 70%.
- The USD 325 fee covers one attempt; USD 399 covers two, and active AAPC membership is required.
- The published competencies are not weighted domains, so no one can honestly tell you the largest domain.
What "Pass Rate" Means for the CHONC
Candidates searching for a CHONC pass rate usually want one thing: reassurance that the exam is beatable. That is a reasonable instinct, but the honest answer starts with a limitation. The Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder credential, issued by AAPC, does not have a publicly disclosed pass rate. No percentage in the reviewed official sources tells you how many first-time candidates succeed, how many retake, or how results vary by experience level.
This article exists to explain what the data actually shows, what it cannot show, and how to reason about your own odds using the facts that are verifiable. If you want to understand the difficulty side of the question separately, our CHONC difficulty guide covers the exam's demands in more depth.
What AAPC Publishes and What It Doesn't
The official sources reviewed for this article include the current 2026 CHONC Study Guide sample pages, the AAPC hematology and oncology coding manual product page, and the AAPC help-center article on the Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder certification. Together they establish the exam's structure, fees, and requirements. They do not establish an outcome statistic.
| Item | Publicly verified? | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Number of questions | Yes | 100 multiple-choice |
| Time allowed | Yes | 4 hours, one sitting |
| Passing threshold | Yes | 70 correct, or 70% |
| Scored vs. unscored split | No | Undisclosed |
| CHONC-specific pass rate | No | Not publicly disclosed |
| Weighted domain blueprint | No | No numbered current weighted blueprint |
| 2026 salary premium | No | None verified |
The pattern is clear: the structural facts are firm, and the outcome and weighting facts are missing. That gap shapes how you should prepare, because you cannot optimize against a blueprint that has not been published.
The Hard Numbers You Can Rely On
Since a pass rate is unavailable, the most useful numbers are the ones that define the pass condition itself. A 100-question exam with a 70-correct threshold means you can miss 30 questions and still pass. Over four hours, that works out to a generous per-question time allowance, which tells you the exam is designed to test accuracy and application rather than speed.
For a precise breakdown of how the threshold works, see our guide to the CHONC passing score. One caution is worth repeating here: the scored/unscored split is undisclosed, so you should treat every question as if it counts.
What the 70% Line Implies
Because the threshold is expressed as 70 correct out of 100, preparation should target a comfortable margin above it, not a bare minimum.
- You have room for imperfect recall on a handful of obscure items.
- You do not have room for a systematic weakness in an entire competency area.
- Because weighting is unpublished, a weak area could cost more than you expect.
Why a Specialty Exam Often Has No Public Pass Rate
Specialty credentials typically have smaller candidate pools than flagship exams, which makes year-to-year statistics noisy and less meaningful to publish. Whatever the reason in this case, the practical consequence is the same: you are preparing without a benchmark. Treat that as a reason to prepare thoroughly, not as a signal of either ease or difficulty.
It is also worth noting what the absence of a retirement notice means. No retirement notice for the CHONC was found in the reviewed current issuer sources, so you can plan on the credential remaining available. That is a statement about the sources reviewed, not a promise about future policy.
What Actually Drives Pass and Fail on This Exam
Without a published rate, the best predictors of success are the ones the official materials emphasize. Two stand out.
Hands-On Specialty Experience
The 2026 study guide sample states that the guide is not comprehensive and that hands-on specialty coding experience matters. Specialty experience is recommended, though no mandatory degree, reference requirement, or training-hour total was verified. A candidate who has coded chemotherapy administration, infusion hierarchies, and drug wastage in a real oncology practice is working from a different footing than one who has only read about them. Review the full eligibility picture in our CHONC requirements guide.
Case-Based Reasoning From Provider Notes
The sample describes assessment based on operative and physician notes. That means questions are likely to hand you a clinical scenario and ask you to pick the correct code, modifier, or guideline application. Memorizing code descriptors is not enough; you must read a note and decide what is reportable. CPC or COC is not a prerequisite, so you do not need another credential to sit for the exam, but the reasoning habits those credentials build are directly useful.
Domain Pressure Points: Where Points Are Won and Lost
The 14 preparation categories used on this site come from the top-level competency bullets in the 2026 AAPC CHONC Study Guide sample, printed page 2 (PDF page 6). They are published exam-related competencies, not official weighted domains, and they are not verified as exhaustive coverage. With that caveat firmly in place, they remain the best map available. Our complete guide to all 14 content areas walks through each one.
The competencies cluster into three practical groups, which is a useful way to think about where candidates tend to need the most work.
Foundation: Terminology, Anatomy, and Physiology
Domains 1 and 2 (medical terminology and anatomy; medical physiology) underpin everything else. In hematology and oncology, this means being fluent in blood disorders, malignancy types, and the body systems affected.
- You cannot select a diagnosis code for a condition you cannot place anatomically.
- Fluency here speeds up every later domain.
Compliance and Billing Rules
Domains 3 through 9 cover teaching physician guidelines, incident-to guidelines, split/shared services, HIPAA regulations, proper use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN), CMS drug wastage policy, and clinical trial services.
- Drug wastage policy is especially relevant in oncology, where single-dose vials and costly agents are routine.
- Clinical trial services add billing distinctions that general coders rarely encounter.
- Incident-to and split/shared rules determine who can be credited with a service, a frequent source of scenario questions.
Code Selection and Reporting
Domains 10 through 14 cover ICD-10-CM coding, E/M code selection using the AMA CPT E/M guidelines, CPT coding for common procedures, CPT and HCPCS Level II modifier usage, and HCPCS Level II coding.
- The CPT common-procedure competency retains five published subtopics: 30000 Series, Laboratory and Pathology, Radiology, Medicine, and Category III codes.
- Modifier usage is where otherwise correct code choices go wrong.
- HCPCS Level II matters heavily because oncology drugs are typically reported with J-codes and related supply and drug codes.
Because there is no published weighting, the largest domain is unknown. Do not let anyone tell you to skip a domain because it is "worth less." The accurate approach is balanced coverage with extra depth in the areas where your own practice experience is thinnest.
Open-Book Conditions and Their Limits
Approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, and HCPCS Level II references are allowed under current print and electronic rules. A provided online E/M calculator is available, but this differs from a prohibited personal calculator, and the study guide itself is not allowed in the testing session. Live proctoring and equipment requirements apply to remote testing.
This open-reference format is easy to misread as an easy exam. It is not. With 100 questions and four hours, lookup speed matters, and a reference book cannot tell you which guideline governs a scenario. If you spend your time hunting for answers in the manual, you will feel the clock. The books help you verify; they do not replace knowing the material. See our CHONC study guide for how to tab and annotate permitted references efficiently.
Key Takeaway
Treat reference access as a verification tool, not a knowledge substitute. Candidates who must look up every question tend to run short on judgment time for the case-based items.
Fee Mechanics and the Retake Decision
Because no pass rate is available, the retake decision is better framed as a cost question. The specialty exam is USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two attempts. Active AAPC membership is required, and there is no non-member exam-only eligibility tier; the observed membership add-on is USD 229.
| Option | Exam cost | Membership | Consideration |
|---|---|---|---|
| One attempt | USD 325 | Active membership required (observed add-on USD 229) | Lowest upfront cost |
| Two attempts | USD 399 | Active membership required (observed add-on USD 229) | Only USD 74 more than one attempt |
The two-attempt option costs USD 74 more than the single attempt. Since you cannot calculate your odds from a published pass rate, that modest difference works as inexpensive insurance, especially if you are new to oncology coding. For the full cost picture, including membership, read our CHONC certification cost breakdown.
Remember also that the credential carries upkeep: maintain annual membership and 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for one credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. Multiple-credential totals vary. Factor that into your decision about whether the investment pays off, which we examine in our ROI analysis. No verified 2026 CHONC salary premium exists, so any earnings claim should be treated cautiously.
A Readiness Plan Built Around the 14 Competency Areas
Since the pass rate cannot guide you, let a self-assessment guide you instead. The sequence below ties each phase to specific CHONC competencies rather than generic habits. Adjust the pace to your schedule and existing experience.
Foundations First
- Review medical terminology and anatomy, then medical physiology, with a focus on blood and cancer-related systems.
- Why first: every later coding decision depends on understanding the condition.
Rules That Decide Who Bills What
- Work through teaching physician, incident-to, and split/shared guidelines.
- Cover HIPAA, ABN usage, CMS drug wastage policy, and clinical trial services.
Diagnosis and E/M
- Practice ICD-10-CM coding from oncology and hematology scenarios.
- Apply the AMA CPT E/M guidelines, including use of the provided online calculator.
Procedures, Modifiers, and HCPCS
- Cover common CPT procedures across the five published subtopics.
- Drill modifier usage and HCPCS Level II drug coding, then take timed mixed practice.
Keep two cautions in mind. The 35-question study-guide exercise and the 50-question practice product are not the live exam, which has 100 questions, so do not calibrate your readiness to either. And payer-specific assumptions should only matter when a scenario states them; otherwise, apply current official ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS, and regulatory guidance.
When you finish a study block, test yourself under realistic conditions with the practice questions on our main practice test site, and keep a one-page list of weak spots using our CHONC cheat sheet as a model.
Reading the Silence: A Realistic Way to Judge Your Odds
Without a published rate, a practical self-test is the best proxy. Ask yourself whether you can, without looking anything up, explain how drug wastage is reported, distinguish incident-to from split/shared billing, and choose between modifiers on a multi-service oncology encounter. If those feel shaky, schedule more preparation before you pay for the exam.
Also consider timing and logistics. Testing happens through Meazure Learning test centers or ProctorU by Meazure Learning remote proctoring, and you need valid ID, membership, and examination authorization. Our exam dates and scheduling guide covers the practical steps, and our salary guide and jobs overview help you judge where the credential fits in your career plan.
Frequently Asked Questions
A CHONC-specific pass rate is not publicly disclosed in the reviewed AAPC sources. Any specific percentage you encounter elsewhere should be treated as unverified. What is published is the pass condition: 70 correct out of 100 questions, or 70%.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions and requires 70 correct, so you can miss up to 30. Because the scored/unscored split is undisclosed, you should answer every question as though it counts toward your result.
No verified comparative data exists. The exam is case-based and specialty-focused, and the study guide sample stresses that hands-on specialty experience matters. Difficulty depends heavily on your oncology and hematology coding background.
No. CPC and COC are not prerequisites. You do need active AAPC membership, valid ID, and examination authorization. Specialty experience is recommended, but no mandatory degree, references, or training-hour total was verified.
That is unknown. The 14 competency areas are published exam-related competencies, not official weighted domains, and there is no numbered current weighted blueprint. Prepare across all areas rather than betting on a presumed largest domain.
To learn more about the credential itself, start with what the CHONC certification is, then return to the practice test site to measure your readiness against realistic scenarios.