- The Number: 70 Correct Out of 100
- What a 70% Line Means for This Exam
- What AAPC Does Not Disclose About Scoring
- The 14 Competency Areas Behind Your Score
- Where to Spend Points When No Blueprint Weights Exist
- Exam-Day Mechanics That Protect Your Score
- Fees, Attempts and the Cost of Missing 70
- A Domain-Sequenced Plan for Reaching 70
- After You Pass: Keeping the Credential
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CHONC exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, and passing requires 70 correct, which is 70%.
- You get four hours in one sitting, which works out to roughly 2.4 minutes per question.
- AAPC does not publish a CHONC-specific pass rate or a weighted domain blueprint, so plan for broad coverage.
- Approved CPT, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II references are allowed; the study guide itself is not.
The Number: 70 Correct Out of 100
The Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder (CHONC) credential from AAPC uses a straightforward passing standard: 70 correct answers on a 100-question multiple-choice exam, or 70%. That is the whole headline. You have four hours, one sitting, and a pass line that sits at seventy questions answered correctly.
Most candidates stop reading there, but the number only becomes useful when you understand what it demands in a hematology and oncology coding context. This article breaks down what 70% means for the CHONC specifically, what AAPC has and has not disclosed about scoring, and how to allocate your preparation when no official weighting exists. If you are still deciding whether to sit the exam, start with our overview of what CHONC certification is, then return here for the scoring detail.
| Exam Element | CHONC Detail |
|---|---|
| Credential | Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder (AAPC) |
| Question format | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time allowed | 4 hours, one sitting |
| Passing standard | 70 correct, or 70% |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| CHONC-specific pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Delivery | Meazure Learning test centers or ProctorU by Meazure Learning remote proctoring |
What a 70% Line Means for This Exam
Seventy percent sounds forgiving, and in some contexts it is. You can miss up to thirty questions and still pass if every one of the 100 items counts toward your score. But the CHONC is an open-reference coding exam, and that changes how the margin behaves.
The margin is real, but so is the speed pressure
Four hours across 100 questions gives you about 2.4 minutes per item. That sounds generous until you meet a case that asks you to select the correct CPT code from an operative or physician note, apply a modifier, and confirm the diagnosis linkage. Those multi-step coding scenarios are exactly where candidates burn time. The AAPC materials describe assessment that is based on operative and physician notes, so expect to read clinical documentation rather than just recall definitions.
Why open-reference does not mean easy
Because approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II references are permitted under AAPC's current print and electronic rules, the exam rewards navigation skill more than memorization of code numbers. A candidate who can find the right code but cannot apply the guideline that governs it will still miss the question. The 70% threshold is typically lost on guideline application, not on lookup. For a candid look at where candidates struggle, see How Hard Is the CHONC Exam?
What AAPC Does Not Disclose About Scoring
Honest preparation means knowing the gaps in the published information. For the CHONC, several things you might want to know are simply not public:
- The scored/unscored split. AAPC does not disclose whether all 100 questions count toward your score or whether some are unscored items. Plan as though every question matters.
- A CHONC-specific pass rate. No verified figure is publicly available. Our analysis in CHONC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said responsibly.
- A numbered, weighted blueprint. The official 2026 guide exists, but it does not provide current weighted exam domains. The largest content area is therefore unknown.
That last point deserves emphasis. The competency lists and guide chapters you will encounter are published exam-related competencies, not official weighted domains and not a verified exhaustive map of what appears on the test. Any resource that claims to tell you exactly how many questions come from each area is offering an editorial estimate at best.
Key Takeaway
Treat every competency area as potentially heavy. Because the largest domain is unknown and the unscored-question split is undisclosed, the safest strategy is balanced coverage with extra depth where coding judgment, not memorization, drives the answer.
The 14 Competency Areas Behind Your Score
The 14 preparation categories used here come from the top-level competency bullets in the 2026 AAPC CHONC Study Guide sample. They describe what the exam is related to testing, grouped into foundations, compliance and billing rules, and coding. For a full walkthrough, read CHONC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 14 Content Areas. Here is how they cluster for scoring purposes.
Clinical Foundations (Domains 1-2)
Medical terminology and anatomy, and medical physiology. These underpin every coding decision in hematology and oncology.
- Terminology for blood disorders, malignancies and treatment modalities
- Physiology that explains why a service or diagnosis is documented the way it is
Rules and Compliance (Domains 3-9)
Teaching physician guidelines, incident-to guidelines, split/shared services, HIPAA regulations, proper use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN), CMS drug wastage policy, and clinical trial services.
- Who may bill under which circumstances: teaching physician, incident-to and split/shared rules
- Drug wastage policy, which matters in oncology where drugs are dosed from single-use vials
- Clinical trial services, a distinctly oncology-flavored billing topic
Code Selection (Domains 10-14)
ICD-10-CM coding, E/M code selection using the AMA CPT E/M guidelines, CPT coding for common procedures, CPT and HCPCS Level II modifier usage, and HCPCS Level II coding.
- CPT common procedures span the 30000 Series, Laboratory and Pathology, Radiology, Medicine and Category III codes
- HCPCS Level II coding is central to oncology drug billing
- Modifier selection often decides whether a correct code is paid or denied
Note the shape of that list: roughly half the competencies are rules and compliance topics rather than pure code lookup. Candidates who prepare only by drilling code sets tend to be surprised by how much of the exam turns on billing policy.
Where to Spend Points When No Blueprint Weights Exist
With no weighted blueprint, you need a defensible way to prioritize. The approach below is editorial judgment, not an official weighting. It is built on how each area behaves in practice.
Protect the "decision-heavy" areas first
Domains 11 through 13 (E/M selection, CPT procedures and modifiers) are where a single scenario can require several correct decisions in sequence. A miss at any step costs the whole question. Because the exam is open-reference, these areas are won by fluency with the E/M guidelines and modifier rules, so practice applying them to documentation rather than just reading them.
Do not neglect the policy domains
Teaching physician, incident-to and split/shared services are easy to underestimate because they involve few code numbers. They are also the kind of topic that produces precise, rule-based multiple-choice items with one clearly correct answer. Candidates who know the rules pick up these points cheaply. Likewise, ABN usage, CMS drug wastage policy and clinical trial services are narrow, learnable topics where focused review pays off quickly.
Our CHONC study guide expands on resource selection, and the CHONC cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts for last-week review. To test your calibration against exam-style items, use the CHONC practice tests.
Exam-Day Mechanics That Protect Your Score
Preventable logistical errors cost candidates points and sometimes entire attempts. These details come from AAPC's current exam conditions.
What you may and may not bring
- Allowed: approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II references under current print and electronic rules.
- Allowed within the exam: the provided online E/M calculator.
- Not allowed: a personal calculator, which is distinct from the provided online E/M calculator, and the study guide.
Test center versus remote proctoring
You may sit at a Meazure Learning test center or take the exam remotely through ProctorU by Meazure Learning. Remote testing involves live proctoring and equipment requirements, so confirm your setup well before exam day. A valid ID, active membership and examination authorization are all required. Technical or identity problems on the day are the most avoidable way to lose an attempt, so check these in advance. For scheduling details, see CHONC Exam Dates 2026.
Pacing the four hours
A workable pacing target is to complete a first pass through all 100 questions with time left over for flagged items. Because your references are open, the temptation is to look up everything. Resist that on questions you already know; reserve reference time for the cases that genuinely need a code check or guideline confirmation.
Fees, Attempts and the Cost of Missing 70
The passing score matters more once you see what a miss costs. The CHONC specialty exam is USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two attempts. AAPC membership must be active, and there is no non-member exam-only tier; the observed membership add-on is USD 229. Full pricing logic is in CHONC Certification Cost 2026.
| Option | Price | Consideration |
|---|---|---|
| Exam, one attempt | USD 325 | Lowest upfront cost; a miss means paying again |
| Exam, two attempts | USD 399 | Only USD 74 more than one attempt, so the second attempt is inexpensive insurance |
| AAPC membership (observed add-on) | USD 229 | Required and must be active; no exam-only tier |
The arithmetic is simple: the two-attempt bundle costs USD 74 more than a single attempt. For a candidate who is unsure about the 70% threshold, that gap is small relative to the cost of purchasing a second exam separately. Eligibility questions, including that CPC or COC is not a prerequisite, are covered in CHONC Requirements 2026.
A Domain-Sequenced Plan for Reaching 70
Generic study scheduling is less useful than sequencing the CHONC's own content in a sensible order. The plan below is an editorial suggestion that builds from foundations to decision-heavy coding. Adjust the pace to your experience; the AAPC materials note that the study guide is not comprehensive and that hands-on specialty coding experience matters.
Foundations
- Medical terminology and anatomy (Domain 1)
- Medical physiology (Domain 2), focusing on hematologic and oncologic concepts
Billing rules
- Teaching physician, incident-to and split/shared services (Domains 3-5)
- HIPAA and ABN usage (Domains 6-7)
Oncology-specific policy
- CMS drug wastage policy (Domain 8)
- Clinical trial services (Domain 9)
- HCPCS Level II coding (Domain 14), pairing drug codes with wastage rules
Diagnosis and E/M
- ICD-10-CM coding (Domain 10)
- E/M selection under the AMA CPT E/M guidelines (Domain 11)
Procedures and modifiers
- CPT common procedures across the 30000 Series, Laboratory and Pathology, Radiology, Medicine and Category III codes (Domain 12)
- CPT and HCPCS Level II modifiers (Domain 13)
Full-length simulation
- Timed 100-question sets using your allowed references
- Review every miss by domain to find where you fall short of the 70-correct line
Drilling timed sets in the final week is the single highest-value activity, because it shows you whether your pacing and reference navigation hold up across a four-hour sitting. Use the CHONC exam practice platform to build those sets, and keep in mind that a 50-question practice product or the 35-question exercise in a study guide is not the same length as the live 100-question exam, so scale your pacing expectations accordingly.
Key Takeaway
Aim to score comfortably above 70% on practice sets before booking, because live exam questions and practice items will not match exactly. A buffer of several points on timed, open-reference practice is a sounder signal of readiness than a score that merely touches the line.
After You Pass: Keeping the Credential
Clearing 70 earns the credential, but maintaining it has its own requirements. You must keep your AAPC membership active annually and complete 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for one credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. If you hold multiple credentials, the combined totals vary. Whether the effort pays off financially depends on your setting: there is no verified 2026 CHONC salary premium, so we discuss realistic expectations in CHONC Salary Guide 2026 and weigh the broader case in Is the CHONC Certification Worth It?. If you are exploring where the credential is used, see CHONC jobs.
Frequently Asked Questions
The passing standard is 70 correct answers out of 100 multiple-choice questions, which equals 70%. The exam is taken in a single four-hour sitting.
No numbered, current weighted blueprint is verified. The competency lists in the official 2026 guide are published exam-related competencies, not weighted domains, and the largest domain is unknown. Prepare for balanced coverage.
Yes. Approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II references are allowed under AAPC's current print and electronic rules. A provided online E/M calculator is available, but a personal calculator and the study guide are not allowed.
You would need another attempt. The exam costs USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two, so the two-attempt option adds a second try for USD 74 more. Active AAPC membership is required either way.
No. A CHONC-specific pass rate is not publicly disclosed, and AAPC does not disclose the scored/unscored question split either. Plan to answer every question as though it counts.