- What You Are Actually Buying With the CHONC
- The Cost Side of the Ledger
- What We Can and Cannot Say About Pay
- Who Values Oncology Coding Credentials
- Skills That Pay Off Beyond the Exam
- Exam Format and Who Should Sit It
- The Ongoing Cost: Membership and CEUs
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the 14 Competencies
- A Decision Framework for Your Situation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CHONC is an AAPC specialty credential: 100 multiple-choice questions, four hours, and 70 correct answers to pass.
- Exam fee is USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two, and active AAPC membership is mandatory.
- No verified 2026 CHONC salary premium exists, so the ROI case rests on role access and skills, not a promised raise.
- CPC or COC is not a prerequisite, but hands-on hematology/oncology coding experience is strongly recommended.
What You Are Actually Buying With the CHONC
Before running any return-on-investment math, be precise about the product. The Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder (CHONC) is a specialty credential issued by AAPC, historically the American Academy of Professional Coders. It signals that a coder can handle the unusual billing and documentation demands of cancer and blood-disorder care, a field where drug administration, clinical trials, teaching physician rules, and wastage policy all collide in a single patient encounter.
That specificity is the whole value proposition. A general coding credential says you know the code sets. The CHONC says you can apply them to chemotherapy infusions, evaluation and management (E/M) selection in oncology visits, and the compliance rules that surround high-cost drugs. If you want the fundamentals of the credential first, our overview of what CHONC certification is covers the basics, and what CHONC stands for clears up the naming.
The Cost Side of the Ledger
The cost side is the easiest half of the ROI equation because the numbers are published. The specialty exam costs USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two attempts. Unlike some credentials, there is no non-member, exam-only tier: active AAPC membership is required to sit the exam, and the observed membership add-on is USD 229. Exams are delivered at Meazure Learning test centers or through ProctorU by Meazure Learning remote proctoring.
| Cost Component | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Exam, one attempt | USD 325 | Single sitting of up to four hours |
| Exam, two attempts | USD 399 | Cheaper per attempt, useful insurance |
| AAPC membership add-on | USD 229 (observed) | Required; no exam-only option |
| Study materials | Varies | Study guide, code books, practice questions |
| Annual renewal and CEUs | Varies | Membership plus 36 CEUs per two-year cycle |
For a full pricing breakdown, see our CHONC certification cost guide. The practical takeaway is that the entry cost is modest compared with a degree or a long training program, which lowers the downside risk. The larger cost for many candidates is not money but time spent building the specialty knowledge, plus the recurring expense of staying current.
Key Takeaway
If you suspect you may need a second try, the two-attempt option at USD 399 costs only USD 74 more than a single attempt. Compare that against the cost of buying a full single attempt twice before choosing a bundle.
What We Can and Cannot Say About Pay
This is the section where most ROI articles go wrong, so we will be direct: there is no verified 2026 salary premium specific to the CHONC. Anyone quoting a precise percentage raise for CHONC holders is either guessing or borrowing numbers from a different credential. Our CHONC salary guide walks through how to think about earnings without inventing figures.
What you can reasonably say is qualitative. Specialty oncology coding is a niche where errors are costly: drug claims are high-dollar, clinical trial billing is compliance-sensitive, and payer scrutiny of infusion services is intense. Employers value coders who can protect that revenue. Whether that translates into a higher salary at your organization depends on the employer, your region, your existing credentials, and your negotiating position.
Ways the credential can create financial value without a guaranteed premium
- Access to specialty roles. Some oncology practices and cancer centers prefer or require specialty credentials when screening coding candidates.
- Negotiating leverage. A credential gives you a documented reason to request a review of your compensation.
- Internal mobility. A coder in a general role can move toward oncology billing, denial management, or auditing with specialty proof in hand.
- Error reduction. Better coding of drug wastage, modifiers, and E/M levels can reduce denials, which is value to the employer even if it is hard to quantify on a resume.
Who Values Oncology Coding Credentials
Demand for this credential tracks the places where oncology coding actually happens. The employers most likely to care include medical oncology and hematology practices, hospital outpatient cancer centers and infusion suites, academic medical centers that run clinical trials, and third-party billing companies that serve specialty practices. Compliance and audit teams that review high-dollar drug claims are another natural fit. Browse our page on CHONC jobs for how these roles tend to be structured.
Notice the common thread: these settings involve drugs administered in the office or outpatient department, frequent use of modifiers, and documentation that must support both medical necessity and payer rules. A candidate who already works in one of these environments gets the clearest payoff, because the credential formalizes knowledge they use daily and makes it visible to management.
The experience factor
CPC or COC is not a prerequisite, and no mandatory degree, reference list, or training-hour total was verified for eligibility. However, specialty experience is recommended, and the 2026 study guide sample states plainly that the guide is not comprehensive and that hands-on specialty coding experience matters. The sample also describes assessment based on operative and physician notes. In other words, this credential rewards people who have actually read oncology documentation. Our CHONC requirements guide details the eligibility picture.
Skills That Pay Off Beyond the Exam
A sound ROI analysis counts what you learn, not just what you earn. The preparation categories for this exam are the published competencies from the 2026 AAPC study guide sample. They are exam-related competencies rather than official weighted domains, but they map closely onto the real work of an oncology coder. Several are high-leverage in daily practice.
Teaching Physician, Incident-to, and Split/Shared Services
These three topics govern who can bill for what and under which provider's name. In oncology, where physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants share care, getting this wrong creates compliance exposure.
- Documentation required when a teaching physician supervises a resident
- Conditions that must hold for incident-to billing
- How split/shared visits are attributed between a physician and a non-physician practitioner
CMS Drug Wastage Policy and ABN Usage
Single-dose drug vials often produce leftover drug, and policy governs when that waste is billable. Pairing this with proper use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice helps protect both revenue and patient relationships.
- Documenting discarded drug amounts
- When an ABN is appropriate for services that may not be covered
Clinical Trial Services
Billing for patients enrolled in trials requires separating routine care from research-funded items. Few general coding courses cover this well, which is part of what makes the specialty credential distinctive.
ICD-10-CM, E/M, CPT, Modifiers, and HCPCS Level II
The core code-set domains are applied to oncology scenarios: neoplasm and blood-disorder diagnosis coding, E/M selection using AMA CPT guidelines, common procedure coding, modifier usage across CPT and HCPCS, and drug and supply coding.
- The CPT common-procedure competency spans the 30000 series, laboratory and pathology, radiology, medicine, and Category III codes
- HCPCS Level II is central to drug billing in oncology
You also need the foundations: medical terminology and anatomy, medical physiology, and HIPAA regulations. For a full walkthrough of each area, read our complete guide to all 14 CHONC content areas.
Exam Format and Who Should Sit It
The live exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions in one four-hour sitting, and you pass with 70 correct answers, which is 70 percent. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed. A CHONC-specific pass rate has not been publicly disclosed either, so be skeptical of any site that cites one; our CHONC pass rate article explains what the available data does and does not show. For the cut score itself, see the CHONC passing score guide.
Resource rules matter for how you prepare. Approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, and HCPCS Level II references are allowed under current print and electronic rules, and the provided online E/M calculator is permitted, whereas a personal calculator is prohibited. The study guide itself is not allowed in the testing session. Live proctoring and equipment requirements apply, especially for remote delivery. Because four hours is generous for 100 questions, the challenge is rarely time; it is depth of specialty knowledge and fluent navigation of your code books.
To gauge your own readiness, our CHONC difficulty guide breaks down what makes the exam demanding, and you can test yourself on the CHONC practice test site before committing money to the exam fee.
Who tends to get the best return
- Coders already working in oncology or hematology settings who want formal proof of skills
- Experienced general coders planning a move into specialty billing
- Auditors and compliance staff reviewing high-dollar drug claims
- Billing managers who want to better supervise oncology coding staff
Who should pause and reconsider
- Complete beginners with no coding exposure, who may benefit from foundational training first
- Coders in settings with no oncology volume and no plan to move
- Anyone expecting the credential alone to guarantee a raise
The Ongoing Cost: Membership and CEUs
Certification is not a one-time purchase. To keep the credential, you must maintain annual AAPC membership and earn 36 continuing education units per two-year cycle for a single credential. Of those, eight must be hematology/oncology CEUs. If you hold multiple credentials, the combined totals vary, so check your own situation in the AAPC member portal.
From an ROI standpoint, the CEU requirement cuts both ways. It is a recurring expense in money and time, but it also forces you to stay current in a field where payer rules, drug codes, and E/M guidelines change often. Coders who treat CEUs as genuine learning, rather than box-checking, tend to extract more value from the credential over time.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the 14 Competencies
There is no numbered, weighted blueprint published for this exam, and the largest domain is unknown. That means you cannot safely skip any area based on assumed weighting. A sensible approach is to sequence by dependency: master vocabulary first, then compliance rules, then code sets, then integrated application. Here is one way to arrange a roughly six-week plan around the published competencies. For a broader plan, see our CHONC study guide.
Foundations: Terminology, Anatomy, Physiology
- Build fluency in oncology and hematology vocabulary so later case scenarios read easily
- Review blood disorders, neoplasm behavior, and treatment modalities
Compliance and Billing Rules
- Teaching physician, incident-to, and split/shared services
- HIPAA, ABN usage, CMS drug wastage, and clinical trial services
Code Sets and Integrated Practice
- ICD-10-CM, E/M selection, CPT common procedures, modifiers, and HCPCS Level II
- Timed question sets using your approved references so code book navigation becomes automatic
Because compliance topics like wastage and incident-to can feel abstract, tie each one to a concrete claim scenario as you study. For a compact refresher in the final days, our CHONC cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts, and you can drill scenario questions on the main practice test.
A Decision Framework for Your Situation
Rather than a blanket yes or no, run your own numbers using verifiable inputs. Start with the fixed costs: exam fee, the membership add-on, and study materials. Then estimate the recurring cost of annual membership and the 36 CEUs. Finally, assess the benefit side using local evidence instead of national guesses.
- Check your job market. Search postings for oncology coding roles near you and note how many mention CHONC or specialty credentials.
- Ask your employer. Some organizations reimburse exam fees or CEUs, which dramatically improves your return.
- Assess your experience. If you already code oncology encounters, your preparation time will be shorter and your pass odds better.
- Weigh the alternative. Compare the credential against other ways to build specialty credibility, such as experience, internal training, or a different certification.
- Decide on the time horizon. Credentials pay off over years, so consider where you want your career to be, not just next quarter's paycheck.
Key Takeaway
The CHONC is most clearly worth it when three things line up: you already work with or plan to move into oncology coding, your employer or local market values specialty credentials, and you are willing to maintain membership and CEUs. If any of those is missing, the case weakens.
For more background on the credential itself, you can also review the explainers on CHONC certification, CHONC training, and exam scheduling and testing windows.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. There is no verified 2026 salary premium specific to the CHONC. Its value is mainly in role access, negotiating leverage, and demonstrable specialty skills. Check local job postings to see how employers in your area treat the credential.
The exam costs USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two attempts. Active AAPC membership is required, with an observed add-on of USD 229, and there is no exam-only option for non-members. Study materials are additional.
No. CPC or COC is not a prerequisite. However, specialty hematology/oncology coding experience is recommended, and the study guide sample emphasizes that hands-on experience matters because the exam draws on operative and physician-note-based scenarios.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions in a single four-hour sitting, and you pass with 70 correct answers, or 70 percent. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, and a CHONC-specific pass rate has not been publicly released.
You must maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for one credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. Holders of multiple credentials should confirm their combined totals with AAPC.