- What "Requirements" Actually Means for the CHONC
- CHONC Requirements at a Glance
- The AAPC Membership Gate
- CPC or COC Is Not a Prerequisite
- Experience: Recommended, Not Mandated
- Exam Format and Fee Mechanics
- The Competencies You Must Be Ready For
- Exam-Day Requirements: ID, Authorization, and References
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Keeping the Credential After You Pass
- Who Hires Certified Hematology and Oncology Coders
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Active AAPC membership is required to sit for the CHONC; there is no non-member, exam-only eligibility tier.
- CPC and COC are not prerequisites, and no mandatory degree, reference letters, or training-hour total was verified.
- The live exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in four hours; you pass with 70 correct, or 70%.
- Specialty hematology/oncology coding experience is strongly recommended, even though it is not a formal gate.
What "Requirements" Actually Means for the CHONC
When people search for CHONC requirements, they usually want one answer: what do I need before I am allowed to take the exam? For the Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder credential issued by AAPC, the formal gate is short. The harder question is the informal one: what do you need to know and have done to actually pass? This article covers both, because a candidate who clears the paperwork but lacks specialty exposure is the one most likely to struggle.
If you are still orienting yourself to the credential, start with What Is CHONC Certification? for the big picture, then return here for the eligibility mechanics.
CHONC Requirements at a Glance
| Requirement | Status for the CHONC |
|---|---|
| Active AAPC membership | Required; no non-member exam-only tier |
| Examination authorization | Required before testing |
| Valid identification | Required at check-in |
| CPC or COC credential | Not a prerequisite |
| Degree | No mandatory degree verified |
| References or letters | None verified as mandatory |
| Training-hour total | No mandatory total verified |
| Specialty experience | Recommended, not mandated |
The pattern is clear: the CHONC is gated by membership and administrative authorization, not by a stack of prior credentials or formal coursework. That makes it accessible, but it also means the exam itself is the real filter.
The AAPC Membership Gate
The single non-negotiable item is an active AAPC membership. The CHONC is a specialty exam, and AAPC does not offer a non-member, exam-only eligibility option for it. You must hold membership at the time you register and, as covered below, keep it active afterward to retain the credential.
This has a direct budget consequence. The specialty exam is priced at USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two attempts, and the observed membership add-on is USD 229. Because membership cannot be skipped, your true entry cost is the exam fee plus membership, not the exam fee alone. For a line-by-line view, see CHONC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
CPC or COC Is Not a Prerequisite
One of the most common misconceptions is that you must already be a Certified Professional Coder (CPC) or Certified Outpatient Coder (COC) before attempting a specialty credential. For the CHONC, that is not the case. The current AAPC study guide sample states plainly that CPC or COC is not a prerequisite.
That said, "not required" does not mean "not helpful." The CHONC tests content that a general coding foundation supports well: ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II, modifiers, and E/M selection. Candidates arriving without any of that background should plan extra time for the fundamentals before they touch the specialty material. Our CHONC difficulty guide explains where newcomers tend to stall.
Experience: Recommended, Not Mandated
AAPC recommends specialty experience but does not enforce a verified minimum. The 2026 study guide sample also states that the guide is not comprehensive and that hands-on specialty coding experience matters. It describes the assessment as operative- and physician-note-based, which means questions present clinical documentation and expect you to extract the correct codes, rather than asking you to recite rules in isolation.
In practice, this tells you what kind of experience counts. Time spent reading oncology progress notes, infusion records, and treatment plans and translating them into codes is exactly the muscle the exam exercises. If you lack that exposure, simulate it: work through documentation-based practice scenarios until reading a note and spotting the billable elements feels routine.
Key Takeaway
No hour count is mandated, but the exam is note-driven. If you have not coded from real hematology/oncology documentation, build that experience through scenario practice before you sit for the test.
Exam Format and Fee Mechanics
Meeting the requirements gets you to the testing room (or remote proctoring session). Knowing the format keeps you from being surprised there.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice |
| Time allowed | 4 hours, one sitting |
| Passing standard | 70 correct, or 70% |
| Fee options | USD 325 (one attempt) or USD 399 (two attempts) |
| Delivery | Meazure Learning test centers, or remote proctoring via ProctorU by Meazure Learning |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| CHONC-specific pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Two cautions. First, do not confuse the live exam with study materials: the 35-question study-guide exercise and the 50-question practice product are preparation tools, not the real format. Second, because no CHONC-specific pass rate is published, be wary of any site quoting one. For what is and is not known, read CHONC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and CHONC Passing Score 2026.
The Competencies You Must Be Ready For
Although eligibility is light, the content load is not. The 2026 AAPC study guide sample lists 14 top-level competencies. It is important to be precise about what these are: they are published exam-related competencies, not official weighted exam domains, and AAPC has not published a numbered weighted blueprint, so the largest area on the live exam is unknown. Treat every area as fair game rather than gambling on a guessed emphasis.
For a full walkthrough of each area, see CHONC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 14 Content Areas. Here is how they group for planning purposes.
Foundations: Terminology, Anatomy, and Physiology
Domains 1 and 2 (Medical terminology and anatomy; Medical physiology) underpin everything else. In a hematology/oncology setting, that means fluency with blood disorders, malignancy types, and how treatments act on the body, so a diagnosis or procedure in a note is never opaque to you.
Billing Rules and Compliance
Domains 3 through 8 cover Teaching physician guidelines, Incident-to guidelines, Split/Shared services, HIPAA regulations, Proper use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN), and CMS drug wastage policy. These are the rules that determine who can bill and how, and they matter heavily in infusion-intensive oncology practices.
- Drug wastage policy is especially relevant because oncology drugs are often single-dose vials billed by unit.
- Incident-to and split/shared rules govern how physician and non-physician work is attributed.
Clinical Trial Services
Domain 9 (Clinical trial services) is a hallmark of oncology coding. Be prepared to separate routine care from research-related services when reading documentation.
Code-Set Application
Domains 10 through 14 cover ICD-10-CM coding, E/M code selection using the AMA CPT E/M guidelines, CPT coding for common procedures, CPT and HCPCS Level II modifier usage, and HCPCS Level II coding.
- The CPT common-procedure competency retains five published subtopics: the 30000 Series, Laboratory and Pathology, Radiology, Medicine, and Category III codes.
- Modifier usage spans both CPT and HCPCS Level II, so know when each applies.
Exam-Day Requirements: ID, Authorization, and References
Beyond membership, three practical items stand between you and a completed exam: valid ID, examination authorization, and compliant reference materials.
Identification and Authorization
You need valid identification and your examination authorization. Mismatched names between your membership, registration, and ID are a classic cause of avoidable delays, so verify them well before your appointment.
Allowed References
Approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, and HCPCS Level II references are allowed under the current print and electronic rules. The study guide itself is not allowed in the testing session. Some details are easy to misread:
- A provided online E/M calculator is part of the testing environment, which is different from a personal calculator, and the personal calculator is prohibited.
- Live proctoring and equipment requirements apply, which matters most if you test remotely.
Confirm your code books are current-year editions and permitted before exam day, and re-read the latest rules rather than relying on a forum recollection. For scheduling windows and deadlines, see CHONC Exam Dates 2026.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Because the formal requirements are minimal, your real "qualification" is readiness. The one place generic scheduling helps is in ordering the domains so each week builds on the last. This is a sample sequence, not an official plan; for deeper materials, see the CHONC Study Guide.
Foundations first
- Medical terminology and anatomy
- Medical physiology, focused on blood and cancer biology
Billing rules
- Teaching physician, incident-to, and split/shared services
- HIPAA and ABN usage
- CMS drug wastage policy
Diagnosis and E/M
- ICD-10-CM coding for hematologic and oncologic conditions
- E/M selection using the AMA CPT E/M guidelines
Procedures, modifiers, and HCPCS
- CPT common procedures across the five published subtopics
- CPT and HCPCS Level II modifiers
- HCPCS Level II drug coding and clinical trial services
The logic: terminology and physiology make documentation readable; the compliance rules tell you who may bill; and only then do code-set questions become manageable. Finish with timed, note-based practice from our CHONC practice tests. Adjust the pace to your experience; a seasoned oncology coder may compress the early weeks, while a newcomer should lengthen them.
Keeping the Credential After You Pass
Requirements do not end at the exam. To keep the CHONC, you must maintain annual AAPC membership and earn 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for a single credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. If you hold multiple credentials, the combined totals vary, so check the current AAPC rules for your specific mix.
This ongoing obligation is part of the credential's real cost and value. If you are weighing the long-term picture, see Is the CHONC Certification Worth It?. On earnings, note that no verified 2026 CHONC salary premium exists, so treat any specific figure with caution and review CHONC Salary Guide 2026 for what can responsibly be said.
Who Hires Certified Hematology and Oncology Coders
The settings where this credential fits are those with dense oncology and hematology billing: cancer centers, hospital outpatient oncology departments, infusion practices, hematology/oncology physician groups, and the billing or revenue-cycle companies that serve them. The skills in the exam map directly onto daily work in those environments, including drug wastage, clinical trial billing, and incident-to or split/shared attribution. Explore the landscape in CHONC Jobs, and see CHONC Training for ways to build the skills those employers expect.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. Active AAPC membership is required, and there is no non-member, exam-only eligibility tier. The observed membership add-on is USD 229, in addition to the exam fee.
No. The current AAPC study guide sample states that CPC or COC is not a prerequisite. A general coding foundation still helps, since the exam draws on ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II, and modifiers.
None was verified as mandatory. AAPC recommends specialty experience, but no minimum years, degree, reference letters, or training hours were confirmed as formal requirements for the CHONC.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions delivered in one four-hour sitting. You pass with 70 correct, or 70%. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
Maintain annual AAPC membership and earn 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for one credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. Totals differ if you hold more than one AAPC credential.