- What the CHONC Credential Actually Is
- Who Issues It and Who Needs It
- Exam Format at a Glance
- The 14 Preparation Categories
- Where Oncology Coding Gets Tricky
- Eligibility, Membership and Fees
- Exam Day: References and Proctoring
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Employers, Roles and Value
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHONC means Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder, a specialty coding credential issued by AAPC.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, four hours, and a 70 percent passing standard.
- CPC or COC is not a prerequisite, but active AAPC membership is required to sit the exam.
- AAPC publishes 14 preparation categories, not an official weighted blueprint, so study all of them.
What the CHONC Credential Actually Is
CHONC stands for Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder. It is a specialty certification for coders who assign diagnosis, procedure and supply codes for cancer and blood-disorder care. Unlike a broad entry-level coding credential, CHONC tests whether you can handle the billing realities of an infusion suite, a chemotherapy clinic, a radiation oncology department or a hematology practice, where a single visit can involve evaluation and management, drug administration, injectable drugs, laboratory work and sometimes clinical trial activity.
If you are searching for a quick definition, our short explainers on what CHONC stands for and what CHONC is cover the basics. This article goes further into how the exam is built, what it expects you to know and whether the credential fits your career path.
Who Issues It and Who Needs It
The credential is issued by AAPC, historically known as the American Academy of Professional Coders. Exams are delivered through Meazure Learning test centers, with remote proctoring available through ProctorU by Meazure Learning. If you have encountered other AAPC specialty credentials, the structure will feel familiar: a membership-based certifying body, a proctored multiple-choice exam and ongoing continuing education to keep the credential in good standing.
The people who benefit most are coders already working in or moving toward oncology and hematology settings. That includes coders at cancer centers, hospital-based infusion departments, independent oncology practices and billing companies that serve oncology clients. AAPC recommends specialty experience, and its own 2026 study guide sample stresses that hands-on specialty coding experience matters. The exam is described as assessing from operative and physician-note-based documentation, so comfort reading real clinical notes is more valuable than memorizing code lists.
Exam Format at a Glance
Current AAPC guidance supports the following structure. Keep in mind that the study-guide exercise (35 questions) and the practice product (50 questions) are not the live exam.
| Element | CHONC Detail |
|---|---|
| Question type | Multiple choice |
| Number of questions | 100 |
| Time allowed | 4 hours, one sitting |
| Passing standard | 70 correct, or 70% |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Delivery | Meazure Learning test centers or ProctorU by Meazure Learning remote proctoring |
| Publicly disclosed pass rate | No CHONC-specific figure available |
Four hours for 100 questions is generous on paper, but case-based coding questions reward careful reading and reference lookups. For a deeper look at the numbers, see our guides on the CHONC passing score and the CHONC pass rate, which explains why no reliable figure exists yet.
The 14 Preparation Categories
AAPC does not publish a numbered, weighted blueprint for CHONC. What it does publish, in the current 2026 study guide sample, is a list of top-level competencies. Those competencies are exam-related, but they are not official weighted domains and are not verified as exhaustive coverage. Treat the list below as your syllabus, and do not assume that any one area dominates the exam. The largest area is simply unknown. Our complete guide to all 14 content areas breaks each one down further.
Foundations: Terminology, Anatomy and Physiology
Domains 1 and 2 cover medical terminology and anatomy, and medical physiology. In oncology and hematology, this means being able to interpret pathology language, tumor sites, staging terms, blood cell lines and the physiological reasons behind treatment.
- Decode terms from operative and pathology reports
- Connect anatomy to correct site and laterality in diagnosis coding
- Understand hematologic and oncologic physiology well enough to recognize what a note is describing
Billing Rules: Teaching Physician, Incident-To and Split/Shared
Domains 3, 4 and 5 address teaching physician guidelines, incident-to guidelines and split/shared services. These are rules about who performed a service and who can bill for it, and oncology settings with nurse practitioners, physician assistants and residents trigger them constantly.
- When physician presence and documentation support billing under the teaching physician
- What conditions must be met for incident-to billing
- How split/shared visits are attributed between a physician and a qualified practitioner
Compliance and Payment: HIPAA, ABN, Drug Wastage and Clinical Trials
Domains 6 through 9 cover HIPAA regulations, proper use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice, CMS drug wastage policy and clinical trial services. Drug-heavy specialties make wastage and ABN knowledge unusually important here.
- Privacy and disclosure rules as they apply to coding and billing staff
- When an ABN is appropriate and what it communicates to the patient
- How discarded drug amounts from single-dose containers are handled under CMS policy
- How services tied to a clinical trial are identified and billed
Code Sets: ICD-10-CM, E/M, CPT, Modifiers and HCPCS Level II
Domains 10 through 14 are the hands-on coding areas: ICD-10-CM coding, E/M code selection using the AMA CPT E/M guidelines, CPT coding for common procedures, CPT and HCPCS Level II modifier usage, and HCPCS Level II coding.
- The CPT common-procedure area spans five published subtopics: the 30000 series, laboratory and pathology, radiology, medicine and Category III codes
- Modifier selection across both CPT and HCPCS Level II
- HCPCS Level II coding, central to injectable and chemotherapy drug billing
Where Oncology Coding Gets Tricky
Because the exam is built around documentation-based scenarios, the hardest questions tend to sit where several rules collide in a single case. Consider a patient receiving an infusion with a same-day evaluation: you must decide whether an E/M service is separately reportable, which modifier communicates that, how the drug is reported with its HCPCS Level II code and what happens to the unused portion of a vial. That one scenario touches E/M selection, modifiers, HCPCS and drug wastage policy.
Similarly, a visit by a nurse practitioner in a physician-owned practice raises incident-to and split/shared questions, while a patient enrolled in a trial raises clinical trial billing questions on top of normal diagnosis coding. When you practice, deliberately build cases that combine domains rather than studying each in isolation. The payer-specific assumptions apply only when a case states them, so read each question for what it says and do not import outside assumptions.
Eligibility, Membership and Fees
CHONC has no mandatory degree, and no verified required training-hour total or reference requirement. CPC and COC are not prerequisites. Specialty experience is recommended, though, and it shows in how candidates perform on case-based questions. To sit the exam you need a valid ID, active AAPC membership and examination authorization. There is no non-member, exam-only tier. Our CHONC requirements guide walks through the qualification steps in order.
| Cost Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Specialty exam, one attempt | USD 325 |
| Specialty exam, two attempts | USD 399 |
| AAPC membership add-on (observed) | USD 229 |
Because membership is mandatory, your real first-year outlay is the exam fee plus membership, not the exam fee alone. The two-attempt bundle costs only USD 74 more than a single attempt, which makes it a sensible hedge for many candidates. Prices can change, so confirm them at checkout. Our CHONC certification cost breakdown covers the full picture, and the exam dates and scheduling guide explains how to plan your booking.
Exam Day: References and Proctoring
CHONC is a reference-supported exam, which changes how you should prepare. Approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II code books are allowed under current print and electronic reference rules. An online E/M calculator is provided within the exam, and this differs from a personal calculator, which is prohibited. A study guide is not permitted in the testing session.
Live proctoring and equipment requirements apply, particularly for remote testing, so check your setup well before exam day. Since you can look up codes, the exam is really testing speed and judgment: knowing where to look, reading guidelines correctly and avoiding the trap answers that look right at a glance. Tab your books by chapter and practice navigating them under time pressure.
Sequencing Your Preparation
You do not need an elaborate method. What matters is ordering the 14 categories sensibly. One workable approach is to start with terminology, anatomy and physiology, because every later domain assumes you can read a clinical note. Then move to the billing-rule domains, which are rule-based and benefit from memorization, and finish with the code-set domains where hands-on lookup practice pays off most.
Clinical Foundations
- Domains 1 and 2: terminology, anatomy and physiology
- Read sample oncology and hematology notes until the language feels routine
Rules and Compliance
- Domains 3 to 9: teaching physician, incident-to, split/shared, HIPAA, ABN, drug wastage, clinical trials
Code Sets and Modifiers
- Domains 10 to 14: ICD-10-CM, E/M, CPT common procedures, modifiers, HCPCS Level II
- Practice combined-domain cases
Timed Review
- Full-length timed sets with your approved reference books
Adjust the pacing to your experience. A working oncology coder may compress the first block, while a coder new to the specialty may need longer there. Our CHONC study guide offers a fuller plan, and the difficulty guide helps you judge how much time you personally need. For realistic repetition, use the CHONC practice tests, and remember that AAPC's own study guide sample states it is not comprehensive.
Keeping the Credential Active
Earning CHONC is not a one-time event. You maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 continuing education units (CEUs) per two-year cycle for a single credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. If you hold multiple AAPC credentials, the total CEU requirement varies, so check your own combination. No retirement notice for CHONC was found in the reviewed current issuer sources, and this article makes no claim about any undisclosed future policy.
Key Takeaway
Budget for membership and CEUs from day one. The ongoing cost of staying certified, and the eight required specialty CEUs per cycle, are part of the true cost of the credential.
Employers, Roles and Value
Demand for oncology-focused coders comes from cancer centers, hospital outpatient infusion departments, hematology and oncology group practices, radiation oncology providers and third-party billing companies. Roles range from charge entry and denial follow-up to coding auditors and compliance-oriented positions. Our CHONC jobs overview looks at the role landscape in more detail.
On pay, be careful with claims you may see online. There is no verified 2026 salary premium specific to CHONC, so any precise figure attached to the credential should be treated with caution. Whether the credential pays off depends more on your employer, region and experience than on the letters alone. Our salary guide and the ROI analysis explain how to evaluate this honestly. For a one-page recap of the key facts, try the CHONC cheat sheet.
Frequently Asked Questions
CHONC stands for Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder, a specialty credential issued by AAPC for coders who work with cancer and blood-disorder services.
No. CPC and COC are not prerequisites. You do need active AAPC membership, a valid ID and examination authorization, and specialty experience is recommended.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions over four hours in one sitting. The passing standard is 70 correct, or 70 percent. The split between scored and unscored items is not disclosed.
Yes. Approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II references are allowed under current print and electronic rules. Study guides and personal calculators are not allowed, though an online E/M calculator is provided.
No numbered, weighted blueprint was verified. AAPC publishes a list of competencies in its 2026 study guide sample, which is why this article treats the 14 areas as preparation categories and not weighted domains. Learn more in our overview of CHONC certification.