CHONC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHONC Training

TL;DR
  • CHONC is the Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder credential from AAPC; the exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in four hours.
  • You need 70 correct answers (70%) to pass, so training must be broad rather than narrowly deep.
  • AAPC has no formal required course; CPC or COC is not a prerequisite, but specialty coding experience is recommended.
  • Active AAPC membership is required to sit the exam; the specialty exam is USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two.

What "CHONC Training" Actually Means

The Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder (CHONC) credential is issued by AAPC, and unlike some professional credentials it does not mandate a specific course, degree or number of training hours. That flexibility is useful, but it also means "training" is whatever you assemble for yourself. A strong CHONC training plan combines three things: clinical literacy in blood disorders and cancer, command of the regulatory rules that govern oncology billing, and fluency in the code sets you will be allowed to use as references on test day.

If you are still orienting yourself to the credential, start with What Is CHONC Certification? and the eligibility rundown in CHONC Requirements 2026. This article assumes you have decided to pursue it and want to know how to prepare.

No prerequisite, but no free pass: AAPC states that CPC or COC is not a prerequisite for CHONC, and specialty experience is recommended rather than mandated. The 2026 study guide sample also says the guide is not comprehensive and that hands-on specialty coding experience matters. Treat self-assessment honestly: if you have never coded a chemotherapy encounter, your training plan needs more case practice than someone who codes oncology claims daily.

Building the Clinical Foundation First

Two of the fourteen published preparation categories are about the body itself: Medical terminology and anatomy and Medical physiology. These are not exam fluff. Hematology and oncology documentation is dense with terminology, and misreading a pathology result or a staging statement leads directly to a wrong code.

Medical terminology and anatomy

You must be able to parse oncology language quickly and place it on the correct body site.

  • Word roots, prefixes and suffixes common to blood and tumor descriptions
  • Anatomic sites and laterality, which drive both ICD-10-CM and CPT selection
  • Distinguishing primary from secondary (metastatic) sites in provider documentation

Medical physiology

Understanding why a service is performed helps you judge whether the documentation supports the code.

  • How the blood, marrow and lymphatic systems function, and what goes wrong in disease
  • Why specific laboratory tests are ordered during monitoring and treatment
  • How treatment modalities relate to the conditions they address

Spend your earliest training sessions here, especially if your background is in a different specialty. Everything else builds on this vocabulary. For a view of how these areas fit alongside the rest, see CHONC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 14 Content Areas.

Mastering the Hem/Onc Billing Rules

This is where CHONC training diverges most sharply from a general coding course. Oncology practices bill under a web of professional-service and payer rules, and six of the fourteen content areas address them directly. Candidates who skip these because they "just want to learn the codes" are underpreparing.

Who Performed the Service

Three areas deal with attribution of services, a recurring issue in busy cancer centers staffed by physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and trainees:

  • Teaching physician guidelines govern when a service involving a resident can be billed and what the supervising physician's documentation must show.
  • Incident-to guidelines cover when services furnished by non-physician staff may be billed under the physician, including the supervision and continuity-of-care conditions that apply.
  • Split/Shared services address visits performed jointly by a physician and a qualified non-physician practitioner, and how the billing provider is determined.

These three are easy to confuse because they all involve more than one person. Build a comparison for yourself so you can tell them apart quickly under time pressure.

ConceptThe core question it answersTypical oncology setting
Teaching physician guidelinesWas the supervising physician sufficiently present and documented when a resident participated?Academic cancer center clinics
Incident-to guidelinesCan a non-physician's service be billed under the physician's identifier?Follow-up visits in a physician-led office
Split/Shared servicesWho performed the substantive portion of a joint visit?Facility-based visits shared by physician and NPP

Compliance and Payer Documentation

  • HIPAA regulations shape how patient information is handled and disclosed.
  • Proper use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN) determines when a patient must be notified that Medicare may not cover a service, a real concern with high-cost oncology treatments.
  • CMS drug wastage policy matters because infused drugs are supplied in fixed vial sizes, so the discarded portion and how it is reported become billing questions.
  • Clinical trial services require careful separation of routine care from research-related items.
Why these areas reward careful reading: Compliance questions often hinge on a single detail in the scenario, such as who was in the room, whether a notice was signed, or how much of a vial was administered. Slow down and identify the deciding fact before choosing an answer.

Coding Skills: ICD-10-CM, E/M, CPT and HCPCS

The remaining content areas are the code-set skills most people expect from a coding exam. The 2026 study guide sample notes that assessment is based on operative and physician notes, so you will be reading documentation and deciding what to report rather than recalling isolated code numbers.

ICD-10-CM coding

Diagnosis coding for hematology and oncology involves sequencing, specificity and site accuracy.

  • Selecting codes for neoplasms by site, behavior and laterality as documented
  • Distinguishing active disease from history and from encounters for treatment or surveillance
  • Applying official guideline conventions and sequencing instructions

E/M code selection using the AMA CPT E/M guidelines

Office and hospital visits are the backbone of an oncology practice's professional billing.

  • Choosing a level by medical decision making or total time, per current AMA CPT guidelines
  • Interpreting how management of a chronic, serious or life-threatening condition factors into the level
  • Knowing the difference between a permitted online E/M calculator and a prohibited personal calculator on exam day

CPT coding for common procedures

The published competency lists five subtopics, and your training should touch each one.

  • 30000 Series
  • Laboratory and Pathology
  • Radiology
  • Medicine
  • Category III codes

CPT and HCPCS Level II modifier usage

Modifiers communicate circumstances that change how a service is paid or reviewed. Practice recognizing when a scenario calls for one and which best fits the documented facts.

HCPCS Level II coding

Drug and supply coding is central to oncology. Training here should connect to the drug wastage policy above, since the same infusion scenario can test both code selection and wastage reporting.

Choosing Your Training Materials

AAPC publishes a Hematology/Oncology Coding Manual and a CHONC study guide, and the current official sample is the clearest window into how the exam's competencies are organized. Read it carefully, but keep its limits in mind: the sample is not the full paid guide, and the guide itself states it is not comprehensive. Official materials alone should not be your only source.

A practical training stack looks like this:

  1. The official study guide and sample pages to anchor your understanding of the published competencies.
  2. Current-year code books (CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II), since these are the references permitted in the exam room under current print and electronic rules. Learn to navigate them fast; flipping through unfamiliar books wastes minutes you cannot afford.
  3. Official guideline documents for ICD-10-CM and the AMA CPT E/M guidelines, because questions follow current official guidance.
  4. Practice questions that mirror multiple-choice format and scenario style.

For a structured walkthrough of how to combine these, see CHONC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Do not confuse practice formats with the real exam: The 35-question exercise in the study guide and any 50-question practice product are training tools, not replicas of the live test. The live exam is 100 multiple-choice questions over four hours. Pace yourself against the real format, not the shorter drills.

Sequencing the Fourteen Areas

AAPC does not publish a numbered, weighted blueprint for CHONC, and the largest area is not publicly identified. The fourteen categories are published competencies, not official weighted domains, so no area should be skipped on the assumption it carries little weight. Instead, sequence training by dependency: foundation first, rules second, code sets last, then integration.

Weeks 1-2

Clinical language

  • Medical terminology and anatomy
  • Medical physiology, tied to common blood disorders and cancers
  • Build a personal glossary of oncology terms you meet in sample notes
Weeks 3-4

Regulatory and billing rules

  • Teaching physician, incident-to and split/shared, compared side by side
  • HIPAA, ABN, CMS drug wastage and clinical trial services
Weeks 5-7

Code-set skills

  • ICD-10-CM neoplasm and hematology coding
  • E/M selection under the AMA CPT guidelines
  • CPT common procedures across all five published subtopics
  • Modifiers and HCPCS Level II, linked to infusion scenarios
Week 8

Integration

  • Mixed-domain practice sets and full-length timed simulations
  • Review weak areas, then rehearse reference-book navigation

The rationale is simple: you cannot reliably assign a diagnosis code without understanding the terminology, and you cannot defend a billing choice without knowing who is allowed to bill. Eight weeks is one reasonable pattern, not a requirement. Compress or extend it based on your experience, and consult How Hard Is the CHONC Exam? to calibrate your timeline.

Exam-Day Mechanics That Training Must Cover

Training is not only content. Several logistical facts directly affect how you prepare.

ItemWhat to know
Format100 multiple-choice questions; scored and unscored split not disclosed
Time4 hours in one sitting
Passing standard70 correct answers, or 70%
FeesUSD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two attempts
MembershipActive AAPC membership required; no non-member exam-only tier; observed membership add-on USD 229
DeliveryMeazure Learning test centers or ProctorU by Meazure Learning remote proctoring
Allowed referencesApproved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II; study guide not allowed

Because the exam is four hours for 100 questions, you have a generous average per question, but scenario-based items can consume far more than average. Practice allocating time so a difficult operative-note question does not drain the clock. Details on the money side are in CHONC Certification Cost 2026, and the scoring threshold is covered in CHONC Passing Score 2026.

Remote proctoring has requirements of its own: If you test remotely, live proctoring and equipment requirements apply. Valid ID, membership and examination authorization are all required. Resolve these well before test day so a technical or paperwork issue does not derail months of preparation.

Practice Questions and Hands-On Experience

Because the exam leans on operative and physician notes, passive reading is a weak substitute for working actual scenarios. Use practice questions to build the habit of extracting the deciding facts from a case: the diagnosis and site, the service performed, who performed it, any supply or drug administered, and which modifier or rule applies.

When you miss a question, trace the miss to one of the fourteen areas. A wrong answer on an infusion case might be a HCPCS Level II problem, a drug wastage problem or a modifier problem. Tagging errors to a specific area shows you where to return, which is far more efficient than rereading everything.

You can test yourself against realistic scenarios on the CHONC practice test site, where mixed-area sets help you find gaps before the real attempt. If you want a final compact review near exam day, the CHONC Cheat Sheet 2026 is useful for consolidation, though it is no replacement for the work above.

Key Takeaway

Do not let experience in one area mask weakness in another. A seasoned oncology coder may still stumble on teaching physician or clinical trial rules; a compliance specialist may lack procedure-coding fluency. Use a timed practice set early to reveal your uneven spots, then train toward them.

Training Does Not End at Certification

Once certified, you must maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for a single credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. If you hold more than one credential, the combined totals vary. Because code sets and regulations change each year, the habits you build during CHONC training, reading current guidelines and checking official sources, carry directly into your ongoing work.

Employers value coders who can navigate oncology's unusually complex billing environment, and there is no verified 2026 CHONC-specific salary premium, so treat the credential as a way to demonstrate specialty competence rather than a guaranteed raise. To weigh the career side, read Is the CHONC Certification Worth It? and explore where the credential is used in CHONC Jobs.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a required course or training-hour total for CHONC?

No mandatory degree, reference requirement or training-hour total was verified in the current AAPC sources. Training is self-directed, though specialty experience is recommended and active AAPC membership is required to take the exam.

Do I need CPC or COC before studying for CHONC?

No. AAPC states that CPC or COC is not a prerequisite. Still, a solid grounding in CPT, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II is essential, and hands-on hematology and oncology coding experience helps considerably.

Which of the fourteen areas should I study most?

AAPC does not publish a weighted blueprint, so the largest area is unknown. The fourteen categories are published competencies rather than official weighted domains. Cover all of them, and spend extra time where practice results show weakness.

Can I bring the study guide into the exam?

No. The study guide is not allowed. Approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II references are permitted under current print and electronic rules, and a provided online E/M calculator differs from a prohibited personal calculator.

How many questions do I need to answer correctly?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, and you pass with 70 correct answers, or 70%. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, and the CHONC-specific pass rate is not publicly available. See the CHONC pass rate article for what is and is not known.

Ready to pass your CHONC exam?

Put this into practice with free CHONC questions across every exam domain.