- The Short Answer: Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder
- Who Issues the Credential
- Breaking Down Each Word in the Name
- Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
- What the Credential Actually Tests
- Exam Format and Registration Mechanics
- Who Hires Hematology and Oncology Coders
- Maintaining the Credential After You Pass
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Credential's Content
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHONC stands for Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder, a specialty medical coding credential issued by AAPC.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, a four-hour limit, and a passing score of 70 correct answers (70%).
- Active AAPC membership is required, and CPC or COC certification is not a prerequisite for sitting the exam.
- Keeping the credential requires annual membership plus 36 CEUs per two-year cycle, eight of them in hematology/oncology.
The Short Answer: Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder
CHONC stands for Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder. It is a specialty credential for medical coders who assign diagnosis and procedure codes for cancer care and blood disorders. If you have landed on this page because a job posting, a colleague, or a search result used the acronym without explanation, that is the whole answer: a coder certified in hematology and oncology.
The longer answer is more useful. The credential signals that a coder can handle the unusual documentation and billing problems of oncology practices: infusion therapy, drug wastage, clinical trial billing, split/shared visits, incident-to rules, and ICD-10-CM coding for neoplasms and blood disorders. Those are not generic coding skills, and the exam is built around them.
If you want a quick companion read, our pages on what CHONC is and the meaning of CHONC cover the same ground from slightly different angles. This article goes deeper into what the name implies about the exam itself.
Who Issues the Credential
The CHONC is issued by AAPC, historically known as the American Academy of Professional Coders. AAPC is the same organization behind widely recognized coding credentials such as the CPC and COC, and the CHONC sits in its specialty-credential family. Exams are delivered through Meazure Learning test centers, with remote proctoring available through ProctorU by Meazure Learning.
That issuer detail matters more than it seems, and the next sections explain why.
Breaking Down Each Word in the Name
Each word in "Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder" tells you something about what you are signing up for.
Certified
The credential is earned by passing a proctored examination, not by completing a course. AAPC requires active membership and exam authorization before you can sit for it. Passing the exam is the certification event; maintaining it afterward requires continuing education and annual membership.
Hematology and Oncology
Hematology covers blood and blood-forming tissues. Oncology covers cancer diagnosis and treatment. Grouping them reflects how many real-world practices operate: the same clinic often treats leukemias, lymphomas, solid tumors, and non-malignant blood disorders, and the same coders handle all of it. The exam expects you to understand the anatomy, physiology, and terminology behind those conditions well enough to read a physician's note and select the right codes.
Coder
The role is coding, not clinical care. A CHONC holder reads documentation, applies ICD-10-CM, CPT, and HCPCS Level II rules, and translates a clinical encounter into reportable codes. The exam is described in the official materials as assessing coding from operative and physician notes, so reading comprehension of clinical documentation is a core skill.
Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
Here is the practical warning. Several well-known credentials in different fields share the letters "CHONC." The only one this site covers is Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder from AAPC. If a search result mentions a different certifying body, different fees, a different exam length, or a different set of subjects, it is almost certainly describing another credential.
A good habit is to expand the acronym in your own notes every time. Write "Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder (AAPC)" at the top of your study plan so you never accidentally absorb facts from a lookalike. Our related pages, what does CHONC mean and what is CHONC certification, reinforce the same identity check.
What the Credential Actually Tests
A name tells you the subject; the exam tells you the depth. The competencies below are the published exam-related areas drawn from AAPC's 2026 CHONC study guide sample. They are competency categories, not officially weighted exam domains, and AAPC does not publish a numbered weighted blueprint, so the largest area on the live exam is unknown. Treat all fourteen as fair game.
Foundations: Medical Terminology, Anatomy, and Physiology
Domains 1 and 2 cover medical terminology and anatomy, and medical physiology. These are the reading-comprehension layer under everything else.
- Decoding oncology and hematology terminology from word parts
- Understanding how blood, lymphatic, and organ systems relate to the conditions you will code
- Recognizing what a note is describing before you assign any code
Compliance and Billing Rules
Domains 3 through 9 are the rules that make oncology billing different from a general practice.
- Teaching physician guidelines: when a resident's work can be billed under a teaching physician
- Incident-to guidelines: what can be billed under a physician's supervision when services are delivered by other clinicians
- Split/shared services: how visits shared between a physician and a nonphysician practitioner are reported
- HIPAA regulations: privacy and security basics in a coding context
- Proper use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN): when and why patients must be notified about potential non-coverage
- CMS drug wastage policy: how discarded drug from single-dose containers is reported
- Clinical trial services: separating routine care from research-related services
Code-Set Application
Domains 10 through 14 are where you assign actual codes.
- ICD-10-CM coding: neoplasm and blood-disorder diagnosis coding
- E/M code selection using the AMA CPT E/M guidelines: leveling visits correctly
- CPT coding for common procedures: the published subtopics are the 30000 series, laboratory and pathology, radiology, medicine, and Category III codes
- CPT and HCPCS Level II modifier usage: choosing and applying modifiers appropriately
- HCPCS Level II coding: supply and drug codes outside CPT
For a deeper walkthrough of each area, see our complete guide to all 14 CHONC content areas. One caveat from the official sample: the study guide is described as not comprehensive, and hands-on specialty coding experience is emphasized as important. A guide alone is not the whole preparation.
Exam Format and Registration Mechanics
Knowing what the name stands for is step one. Step two is understanding what sitting the exam involves. These are the verified mechanics from current AAPC sources.
| Item | CHONC (AAPC) |
|---|---|
| Question format | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | 4 hours, in one sitting |
| Passing standard | 70 correct answers, or 70% |
| Exam fee | USD 325 for one attempt; USD 399 for two attempts |
| Membership | Active AAPC membership required; no non-member exam-only tier (membership add-on observed at USD 229) |
| Delivery | Meazure Learning test centers or ProctorU by Meazure Learning remote proctoring |
| Prerequisites | CPC or COC not required; specialty experience recommended |
Two details deserve emphasis. First, the exam allows approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM, and HCPCS Level II reference books under AAPC's current print and electronic rules, so this is an open-book-style exam for code books. A study guide is not allowed in the room, and a provided online E/M calculator is distinct from a prohibited personal calculator. Second, live proctoring and equipment requirements apply, so read the candidate rules before test day rather than assuming a standard home setup will pass inspection.
For the full money picture, including how membership changes the total, see the CHONC certification cost breakdown. For eligibility questions, our CHONC requirements guide covers ID, membership, and authorization in detail, and the passing score page explains the 70-correct standard. If you are planning your testing timeline, check CHONC exam dates and scheduling.
Who Hires Hematology and Oncology Coders
The title tells you where the credential is useful: anywhere cancer and blood-disorder care is billed. That includes:
- Independent oncology and hematology practices, where physician-office billing rules (incident-to, split/shared, E/M leveling) dominate the work
- Hospital outpatient cancer centers and infusion clinics, where drug administration, drug wastage, and HCPCS Level II drug codes are daily concerns
- Academic medical centers, where teaching physician rules and clinical trial billing come up frequently
- Billing companies and coding consultancies that serve oncology clients and need coders who already know the vocabulary
- Clinical research and trial-support teams that need staff who can separate routine-care charges from research-related services
Notice how closely that list mirrors the exam's domains. Teaching physician guidelines, drug wastage, clinical trial services, and incident-to rules are on the exam because they are on the job. For more on the job market, see our CHONC jobs overview. On compensation, we do not cite a number here: no verified 2026 salary premium for the credential has been established, and our salary guide and ROI analysis discuss that uncertainty honestly rather than guessing.
Maintaining the Credential After You Pass
"Certified" is not a one-time event. To keep the credential in good standing you must maintain annual AAPC membership and earn 36 continuing education units (CEUs) per two-year cycle for a single credential. Of those, eight must be hematology/oncology CEUs, which keeps your continuing education tied to the specialty rather than drifting into general coding topics. If you hold multiple AAPC credentials, the total CEU requirement varies, so check your membership dashboard rather than assuming the single-credential number applies.
Key Takeaway
Budget for the credential as a recurring commitment, not a one-time exam fee. Annual membership and the CEU cycle continue long after test day, and the specialty-specific CEU requirement means your ongoing learning should stay anchored in oncology and hematology content.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Credential's Content
Because the name spans both clinical knowledge and billing rules, a sensible plan front-loads the clinical language and ends with code application. This is one example of an eight-week order, not an official curriculum. It reflects the fact that the largest exam area is unknown, so coverage matters more than guessing at weights.
Clinical Language
- Medical terminology and anatomy, then physiology, so you can read oncology and hematology notes fluently
- Pay attention to neoplasm and blood-disorder vocabulary you will meet again in ICD-10-CM
Compliance and Payment Rules
- Teaching physician, incident-to, and split/shared rules
- HIPAA, ABN, CMS drug wastage policy, and clinical trial services
Code Sets in Practice
- ICD-10-CM, E/M leveling, and CPT common procedures
- Modifier usage and HCPCS Level II, including drug codes
- Practice navigating your approved code books quickly
Full-Length Simulation
- Timed 100-question practice sets matching the four-hour limit
- Review missed questions by domain to find true gaps
For a fuller plan, read our CHONC study guide. When you are ready to test yourself on questions modeled on the exam's competencies, try the CHONC practice test and use the results to decide where to spend your final weeks. A one-page recap is available in our CHONC cheat sheet, and if you are wondering about difficulty, see how hard the CHONC exam is. We also note that a CHONC-specific pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so our pass rate page explains what can and cannot be said.
Frequently Asked Questions
CHONC stands for Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder. It is an AAPC specialty credential for medical coders working with cancer and blood-disorder documentation and billing.
No. Other credentials share the acronym, but this article and this site cover only the AAPC Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder. Always confirm the issuer before relying on fees, exam details, or recertification rules from any source.
No. CPC and COC are not prerequisites. You do need active AAPC membership, a valid ID, and exam authorization, and specialty coding experience is recommended even though it is not a mandatory requirement.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions and a four-hour limit taken in one sitting. You pass with 70 correct answers, or 70%. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
Maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for a single credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. Totals differ if you hold more than one AAPC credential.