- What CHONC Means
- Who Issues the Credential
- What the Credential Signals to Employers
- How the Exam Is Built
- The 14 Published Competencies
- Two Halves of the Knowledge Base
- Registration, Fees and Membership
- What You Can Bring to the Exam
- Keeping the Credential Active
- A Caution About the Acronym
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHONC stands for Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder, a specialty credential issued by AAPC.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, a four-hour limit, and a 70-correct (70%) passing line.
- CPC and COC are not prerequisites, but active AAPC membership is required to sit for the exam.
- AAPC publishes 14 exam-related competencies, but no official weighted blueprint, so the largest domain is unknown.
What CHONC Means
CHONC is the abbreviation for Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder. It is a specialty coding credential aimed at professionals who translate cancer and blood-disorder care into diagnosis, procedure and drug codes. If you want the shortest possible answer, that is it: a coder's certification focused on hematology and oncology documentation, coding and billing rules.
The long form matters because the acronym is compact and easy to misread. Each word in the title points at something concrete. "Certified" means a proctored exam and an ongoing maintenance requirement. "Hematology and Oncology" defines the clinical territory: leukemias, lymphomas, myeloma, solid tumors, anemias, clotting disorders, and the infusion, injection and radiation-related services that surround them. "Coder" defines the job function: assigning ICD-10-CM, CPT and HCPCS Level II codes from clinical documentation. For related phrasing of the same question, see our explainers on what CHONC stands for and what CHONC is.
Who Issues the Credential
The CHONC is issued by AAPC, historically known as the American Academy of Professional Coders. Exams are delivered through Meazure Learning test centers, or remotely through ProctorU by Meazure Learning live remote proctoring. That delivery detail has practical consequences: remote candidates must satisfy equipment and environment requirements, and in-person candidates deal with test-center check-in procedures. Neither route changes the exam content; both require valid ID, active membership and examination authorization.
What the Credential Signals to Employers
A CHONC tells a hiring manager that you have been tested on the specialty-specific rules that generalist coders often handle unevenly. Oncology practices bill a distinctive mix: drug administration, drug wastage, clinical trial services, incident-to supervision in office settings, split/shared visits in facility settings, and frequent use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice. A coder who can demonstrate competence across that mix reduces denial risk for the practice.
Typical environments where this knowledge is valued include hematology/oncology group practices, cancer centers, hospital-based outpatient infusion departments, radiation oncology-adjacent billing operations, and revenue cycle or coding-audit firms that serve oncology clients. For a closer look at the employer side, read our overview of CHONC jobs.
On earnings, be careful. No verified 2026 salary premium for the CHONC has been established, so any specific dollar uplift you see quoted deserves skepticism. Our CHONC salary guide and the CHONC ROI analysis discuss how to evaluate value without relying on unsupported figures.
How the Exam Is Built
The live examination consists of 100 multiple-choice questions delivered in a single four-hour sitting. A passing result requires 70 correct answers, or 70%. AAPC does not publicly disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, and a CHONC-specific pass rate has not been published, so treat any quoted pass percentage with caution; our pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said.
| Exam Element | CHONC Detail |
|---|---|
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice |
| Time allowed | 4 hours, one sitting |
| Passing standard | 70 correct (70%) |
| Scored/unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Delivery | Meazure Learning test centers or ProctorU by Meazure Learning remote proctoring |
| Reference materials | Approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II references |
Four hours for 100 questions is generous on paper, but the questions are scenario-driven. Candidates are expected to read operative or physician-note-style documentation and decide on codes, modifiers or compliance handling. That reading load, not raw time pressure, is what makes the exam feel demanding. Our difficulty guide and passing score explainer go deeper on those points.
The 14 Published Competencies
AAPC's current study guide sample lists 14 top-level competency areas. These are published exam-related competencies; they are not an official weighted blueprint. AAPC has not published percentages for each area, which means the largest domain is unknown. Do not let any source tell you a specific domain is "worth 20% of the exam" unless it can cite an official weighting, because none is verified. Our complete domains guide walks through each area in more detail.
- Medical terminology and anatomy
- Medical physiology
- Teaching physician guidelines
- Incident-to guidelines
- Split/Shared services
- HIPAA regulations
- Proper use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN)
- CMS drug wastage policy
- Clinical trial services
- ICD-10-CM coding
- E/M code selection using the AMA CPT E/M guidelines
- CPT coding for common procedures
- CPT and HCPCS Level II modifier usage
- HCPCS Level II coding
Two Halves of the Knowledge Base
It helps to think of the 14 areas as two connected halves: the clinical foundation that lets you understand the record, and the coding and compliance rules that let you convert it to correct claims.
Clinical Foundation: Terminology, Anatomy and Physiology
Medical terminology and anatomy, and medical physiology, underpin everything else. Oncology notes are dense with staging language, histology, laboratory trends and treatment-response terms.
- Recognize word roots, prefixes and suffixes used in hematology and oncology documentation
- Understand how blood, bone marrow, lymphatic and organ systems relate to diagnosis selection
- Connect physiology to the reason a drug, transfusion or biopsy was performed
Supervision and Visit Rules: Teaching Physician, Incident-To, Split/Shared
These three areas determine who gets credit for a service and under what conditions it can be billed.
- Teaching physician guidelines address documentation of physician presence and participation when residents are involved
- Incident-to guidelines govern billing certain services under the supervising physician in qualifying office settings
- Split/shared services address visits shared between a physician and a qualified non-physician practitioner in applicable facility settings
Compliance and Payment Policy: HIPAA, ABN, Drug Wastage, Clinical Trials
Oncology is drug-intensive and trial-heavy, so compliance questions appear in specialty-specific forms.
- HIPAA regulations: permitted uses and disclosures of protected health information
- Proper use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN): when it applies and what it communicates to a patient
- CMS drug wastage policy: handling of discarded amounts from single-dose containers
- Clinical trial services: separating routine care from items and services provided as part of a research protocol
Code Set Application: ICD-10-CM, E/M, CPT, Modifiers, HCPCS Level II
The remaining areas are the hands-on code assignment skills.
- ICD-10-CM coding for neoplasms, blood disorders and related conditions
- E/M code selection using the AMA CPT E/M guidelines, including an online E/M calculator that is provided within the exam environment and is distinct from a prohibited personal calculator
- CPT coding for common procedures: the published subtopics are the 30000 series, laboratory and pathology, radiology, medicine and Category III codes
- CPT and HCPCS Level II modifier usage
- HCPCS Level II coding, including drug and supply codes
Registration, Fees and Membership
The exam fee is USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two attempts. Active AAPC membership is required; there is no non-member, exam-only eligibility tier. The observed membership add-on is USD 229. Remember that membership is an ongoing annual cost, not a one-time fee, so budget for it beyond exam day. The full breakdown, including how bundles interact with membership, is in our certification cost guide.
| Cost Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Exam, one attempt | USD 325 |
| Exam, two attempts | USD 399 |
| AAPC membership (observed add-on) | USD 229 |
On eligibility, CPC and COC are not prerequisites, and no mandatory degree, reference letters or training-hour total were verified. You do need valid ID, membership and examination authorization. Specialty experience is recommended, and AAPC's own study guide sample stresses that hands-on specialty coding experience matters. Details are covered in our requirements guide, and scheduling mechanics are in the exam dates article.
Key Takeaway
The absence of a CPC or COC prerequisite does not mean the exam is entry-level. The recommended specialty experience is the real gatekeeper in practice, because scenario questions assume you have seen oncology documentation before.
What You Can Bring to the Exam
Candidates may use approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II references under current AAPC print and electronic reference rules. A study guide is not allowed in the exam. The provided online E/M calculator is different from a personal calculator, which is prohibited. Because live proctoring and equipment requirements apply, review the current rules before test day rather than relying on memory or hearsay.
Open-book access changes how you prepare. You are not memorizing code numbers; you are training speed and judgment: knowing where to look, recognizing guideline conventions, and avoiding the trap of picking the first plausible code. Tab and annotate your references only in ways the current rules allow.
Keeping the Credential Active
Maintenance requires an active annual AAPC membership and 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for a single credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. Totals differ if you hold multiple AAPC credentials, so confirm your own combination. The specialty-CEU requirement is a useful signal: AAPC expects ongoing learning inside the specialty, not just general coding education.
A Caution About the Acronym
Several unrelated credentials in healthcare share similar abbreviations. When you research, verify that the source is describing the Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder issued by AAPC, with 100 questions, four hours and a 70% passing line. If a page cites a different certifying body, different fees or a different exam structure, it is describing something else. For definitional variants of the same question, see CHONC meaning, what is a CHONC and what is CHONC certification.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Rather than a generic plan, sequence your study around how the 14 areas depend on one another. Because there is no official weighting, spread effort fairly evenly and let practice results show you where to deepen. This is an editorial suggestion, not an official blueprint.
Clinical Foundation
- Terminology, anatomy and physiology as they appear in oncology and hematology notes
- Learn to read an operative or physician note end to end
Supervision and Compliance Rules
- Teaching physician, incident-to and split/shared services
- HIPAA, ABN, CMS drug wastage and clinical trial services
Code Set Application
- ICD-10-CM, E/M selection, CPT common procedures, modifiers and HCPCS Level II
- Practice with your approved references in hand
Timed Mixed Review
- Full-length mixed sets to build four-hour stamina
- Revisit areas where scenario questions slowed you down
For a fuller plan, see our CHONC study guide, the one-page cheat sheet for last-minute review, and the training overview. When you are ready to test yourself on scenario-style items, try the CHONC practice tests and use the results to direct your remaining study time.
Frequently Asked Questions
CHONC stands for Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder, a specialty coding credential issued by AAPC for coders who work with hematology and oncology documentation, billing and compliance rules.
No. CPC and COC are not prerequisites. You do need active AAPC membership, valid ID and examination authorization, and specialty coding experience is recommended.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions in a four-hour sitting. You pass with 70 correct answers, which is 70%. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
No numbered, weighted blueprint has been published. The 14 areas are published exam-related competencies, so the largest domain is unknown. Prepare across all of them rather than betting on one.
Maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for a single credential, including eight hematology/oncology CEUs. Holding multiple AAPC credentials changes the totals.