CHONC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Does CHONC Mean?

TL;DR
  • CHONC stands for Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder, a specialty coding credential issued by AAPC.
  • The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, a four-hour limit, and requires 70 correct answers to pass.
  • Active AAPC membership is required; CPC or COC certification is not a prerequisite.
  • The published competency list has 14 areas, but they are not officially weighted exam domains.

The Short Answer: What CHONC Means

CHONC means Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder. It is a specialty medical coding credential offered by AAPC (historically the American Academy of Professional Coders). Holding it signals that a coder can translate the documentation of cancer and blood-disorder care into accurate diagnosis codes, procedure codes, drug codes and modifiers, and can apply the compliance rules that govern how those services are billed.

The name tells you the scope. "Hematology" covers blood and blood-forming tissues. "Oncology" covers the diagnosis and treatment of cancer. Practices that treat both, whether community oncology groups, hospital-based infusion centers or academic cancer programs, produce some of the most documentation-heavy and reimbursement-sensitive claims in outpatient medicine. The credential exists because generalist coding knowledge often leaves gaps in that environment.

If you want the same answer in other phrasings, our shorter explainers cover what CHONC stands for and the broader CHONC meaning. This article goes further by explaining what the letters commit you to in terms of exam content, cost and career use.

Why the Acronym Needs Pinning Down

Search results for "CHONC" can be confusing because several unrelated credentials in healthcare and other fields share similar letter combinations. This site is about one credential only: the Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder. Everything below, including exam format, fees, eligibility and maintenance, describes that credential and nothing else.

Verify before you buy: If a study resource, forum post or job listing mentions a different certifying body, a different exam length or a different fee structure, it is probably describing another credential. For this one, the issuer is AAPC, the exam is 100 questions over four hours, and the pass threshold is 70 correct answers.

Who Issues the Credential

AAPC issues the CHONC. Exams are delivered through Meazure Learning test centers, or remotely through ProctorU by Meazure Learning live proctoring. AAPC is best known for the CPC (Certified Professional Coder) and COC (Certified Outpatient Coder) credentials, and the CHONC sits in its specialty family. Specialty credentials are designed for people who already work, or want to work, in one clinical area and need coding depth there.

One point surprises many first-time readers: the CHONC does not require you to hold a CPC or COC first. AAPC's published guidance says neither is a prerequisite. Specialty experience is recommended, and the study guide itself stresses that hands-on specialty coding experience matters, but no mandatory degree, reference letters or training-hour total were verified in the current official sources. For the full breakdown, see our guide to CHONC requirements and eligibility.

What the Credential Covers: The 14 Competency Areas

The 2026 AAPC CHONC Study Guide sample lists 14 top-level competencies. These are published exam-related competencies. They are not official weighted exam domains, and AAPC has not published a numbered blueprint with percentages, so no one can honestly tell you which area is the largest on test day. Treat all 14 as fair game. Our complete guide to all 14 content areas goes deeper on each one.

Grouped by function, the 14 areas fall into four clusters:

ClusterCompetency areasWhat it tests in practice
Clinical foundationMedical terminology and anatomy; Medical physiologyReading oncology and hematology notes without guessing at meaning
Billing rules and complianceTeaching physician guidelines; Incident-to guidelines; Split/Shared services; HIPAA regulations; Proper use of the Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN); CMS drug wastage policy; Clinical trial servicesDeciding who can bill, under whose name, and what must be documented
Diagnosis and E/M codingICD-10-CM coding; E/M code selection using the AMA CPT E/M guidelinesChoosing diagnosis codes and visit levels from physician documentation
Procedure and supply codingCPT coding for common procedures; CPT and HCPCS Level II modifier usage; HCPCS Level II codingReporting procedures, lab and imaging services, drugs and modifiers correctly

Why the compliance cluster stands out

Notice how many of the 14 areas are about billing rules rather than code lookup. Teaching physician guidelines, incident-to, split/shared services, ABN usage, drug wastage and clinical trial billing are all questions about whether and how a service may be billed, not just which code describes it. In an oncology setting these matter constantly: advanced practice providers see patients alongside physicians, infusion drugs are dispensed from single-dose vials, and trial participants generate both research-funded and routine-care services on the same day.

CMS Drug Wastage Policy

Oncology infusion often involves drugs supplied in fixed vial sizes, so partial-vial discard is routine. Candidates need to understand how wastage is documented and reported under CMS policy.

  • Know why single-dose container waste is a billing topic at all
  • Understand the documentation a payer expects to see
  • Connect wastage reporting to HCPCS Level II drug coding and modifier usage

Clinical Trial Services

Cancer centers enroll patients in trials heavily, and coders must separate services that belong to the study from those that are standard care.

  • Recognize how trial participation affects what gets billed to insurance
  • Read documentation to identify routine-care services during a trial visit
  • Understand why accurate identification protects both the patient and the practice

Procedure coding specifics

The CPT competency for common procedures retains five published subtopics: the 30000 series, laboratory and pathology, radiology, medicine, and Category III codes. The study guide's table of contents supplies additional published detail on diagnostic, E/M and procedure topics, but remember that the free sample is not the full paid study guide, and the guide itself says it is not comprehensive. Your CHONC study plan should therefore combine the guide with real code-book fluency and, ideally, hands-on specialty exposure.

How the Exam Works

The exam format is straightforward and consistent across current official sources:

ElementDetail
Question count100 multiple-choice questions
Time limit4 hours in one sitting
Passing standard70 correct answers (70%)
Scored vs. unscored splitNot disclosed
DeliveryMeazure Learning test centers or ProctorU by Meazure Learning remote proctoring
Official pass rateNot publicly disclosed for this credential

Four hours for 100 questions is generous on paper, but the questions are case-based. The study guide describes assessment built around operative and physician notes, so you will often read a documentation excerpt and then decide on diagnosis codes, procedure codes, modifiers or a billing-rule outcome. That means time goes to reading and cross-referencing, not memorization. Our guides on the passing score and what is and isn't known about the pass rate explain why you should be skeptical of any specific percentage you see quoted online.

Open-reference rules

The CHONC permits approved reference materials: CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II code books, under current print and electronic rules. Several details trip people up:

  • A study guide is not an allowed reference.
  • The exam provides an online E/M calculator, which is different from a personal calculator; personal calculators are prohibited.
  • Live proctoring and equipment requirements apply, especially for remote testing.
Open book does not mean easy: Because code books are allowed, the exam rewards candidates who navigate them quickly and apply guidelines correctly. Tab your books, practice using the guidelines sections, and rehearse looking up codes under time pressure rather than relying on memory alone. For a realistic read on difficulty, see how hard the CHONC exam really is.

Fees, Membership and Registration Mechanics

Cost structure is one of the most misunderstood parts of the credential. The specialty exam is priced at USD 325 for one attempt or USD 399 for two attempts. In addition, active AAPC membership is required, and there is no non-member exam-only tier. The observed membership add-on is USD 229. You also need a valid ID, membership and examination authorization to sit for the exam.

Cost componentAmountNote
Exam, one attemptUSD 325Specialty exam price
Exam, two attemptsUSD 399Bundled retake option
AAPC membershipUSD 229 (observed add-on)Required; no exam-only tier

Code books and study materials are separate costs, and prices change, so confirm current figures at checkout. Our CHONC certification cost breakdown walks through how to budget, and our scheduling guide covers how to plan your testing date once you have authorization.

Who Should Pursue It and Who Hires for It

The CHONC fits coders whose daily work touches cancer care or blood disorders. Typical settings include:

  • Community oncology and hematology practices
  • Hospital outpatient cancer centers and infusion suites
  • Academic medical center oncology departments
  • Billing companies and revenue cycle vendors serving oncology clients
  • Auditing and compliance roles that review specialty claims

These employers share a pain point: oncology claims combine high-cost drugs, complex visit documentation, shared provider workflows and strict payer rules. A coder who has demonstrated competency in teaching physician, incident-to and split/shared rules, plus drug wastage and ABN handling, reduces denial risk in exactly the areas where practices lose revenue. To see how this plays out in actual listings, read our overview of CHONC jobs.

Key Takeaway

Do not assume the credential automatically raises your pay. No verified 2026 CHONC salary premium exists in the reviewed sources. Evaluate it on skill, employability and fit, and consult our salary analysis and ROI discussion for a measured view.

Keeping the Credential Active

Earning the CHONC is not a one-time event. To keep it, you maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs per two-year cycle for a single credential. Of those, eight must be in hematology/oncology. If you hold multiple AAPC credentials, total CEU requirements vary, so check your own situation rather than assuming the single-credential number applies.

The eight-CEU specialty requirement is a useful signal about the credential's intent: AAPC expects holders to keep current in the clinical and coding changes specific to this field, such as new drug codes, revised guidelines and evolving payer policies.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Competencies

Since AAPC has not weighted the 14 areas, a sensible plan front-loads foundations, then spends the longest stretch on the rules-based and coding-heavy areas, then finishes with timed mixed practice. This is one possible sequence, not an official schedule:

Weeks 1-2

Clinical foundation

  • Medical terminology and anatomy for blood and cancer conditions
  • Medical physiology, so documentation makes clinical sense
Weeks 3-4

Billing-rule competencies

  • Teaching physician, incident-to and split/shared services
  • HIPAA, ABN usage, CMS drug wastage and clinical trial services
Weeks 5-7

Code-set work

  • ICD-10-CM coding and E/M selection under AMA CPT E/M guidelines
  • CPT common procedures, modifiers and HCPCS Level II drug coding
Week 8

Timed mixed review

  • Full-length, case-based practice with your tabbed code books
  • Revisit weak competencies identified in practice results

The reasoning: the rule-based areas are conceptually dense and benefit from early exposure, while code-set fluency improves with repetition and is best practiced against case-style questions. Use a one-page review sheet for last-week consolidation, and build exam stamina with realistic questions on the main practice test site. If you want structured preparation resources, see our CHONC training overview, then return to the practice question bank to test yourself under timed conditions.

Practice-format reminder: Some study-guide exercises and practice products use different question counts, such as a 35-question exercise or a 50-question product. Those are not the live exam, which has 100 questions. Do not calibrate your pacing to a shorter practice format.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CHONC stand for?

CHONC stands for Certified Hematology and Oncology Coder. It is an AAPC specialty credential for coders who work with cancer and blood-disorder documentation and billing. See also our page on what CHONC certification is.

Do I need CPC or COC before taking the CHONC exam?

No. Current AAPC guidance says CPC or COC is not a prerequisite. Active AAPC membership, a valid ID and examination authorization are required, and specialty experience is recommended.

How many questions are on the exam and what score passes?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, a four-hour limit, and a passing standard of 70 correct answers, or 70 percent. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.

Can I use code books during the exam?

Yes, approved CPT Professional, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II references are allowed under current print and electronic rules. A study guide is not allowed, and personal calculators are prohibited, though an online E/M calculator is provided.

Are the 14 competency areas weighted on the exam?

No official weighting has been published. The 14 areas come from the study guide sample's top-level competency list and are published competencies, not weighted domains, so prepare across all of them rather than betting on a presumed largest section.

In short, CHONC means a defined, AAPC-issued specialty credential with a clear format, real fees, and a competency list that mixes clinical knowledge, billing compliance and code-set skill. For a deeper definition and context, you can also read what CHONC is and our CHONC certification overview.

Ready to pass your CHONC exam?

Put this into practice with free CHONC questions across every exam domain.